Weekly Photo Challenge x3: Food, Adventure & Dreaming

This week I am going to try to combine all 3 photo challenges into 1 post :) I have done 2 together before and after Island Traveller tied all 3 together last week I thought I would give it a try too ;)

Alisa over at Where’s My Backpack posted the travel theme FOOD. Whenever travelling you should try the local cuisine and what they are famous for. I am not an adventurous eater, but I do try to sample a nibble of something different and try it when travelling. In doing so I have discovered some great foods to tantalize the palate.  Island Traveller’s theme for the week is ADVENTURE and what couldn’t be as adventurous as traveling and trying some new foods? Word Press set the theme DREAMING… and I am always dreaming of a vacation and where to go to next… Check out each of these posts to join in the challenges or to see more :)

Last April we went to Vietnam and I saw people with big steaming bowls filled with noodles. I am always weary of food on the street, so I never gave it a second thought. At our breakfast buffet, at the resort we stayed, they had a noodle cart set up and the sign said it was a traditional fare. The cart was providing a soup called Pho (pronounced Fah).

Pho -my new fav food

Despite the heat I decided to try a bowl and was hooked! Rice noodles with bean sprouts, fresh basil,  wedge of lemon and a little tiny piece of hot pepper was an awesome combination. On top there are choices of meat; beef, pork or chicken. Meat is used sparingly, but a few pieces is all you really need to compliment this bowl of goodness. My favourite was the seasoned pork, but it must have been a Seahorse resort specialty because I have not seen it elsewhere. Back in Shanghai we found a place close to our house at the Kerry Centre that is a Vietnamese restaurant and for $15- $20 (100 RMB) we could each have a gigantic steamy bowl of Pho and a plate of spring rolls.

You may remember reading my Vietnam posts and I talked about our cooking class. We learned how to make fresh and deep fried spring rolls. John’s favourite is the deep fried, but I tend to like the fresh which are refreshing on a hot day. Most have mint leaves, carrot, cucumber and may or may not have some meat. The place near us also makes a fruit/veggie combo with carrot, cucumber, apple and dragon fruit. YUM! Here in Canada John found a place that is a small Vietnamese restaurant and they make a delicious Pho and we tried the vermicelli too. That is a rice noodle with meat, cucumber, lemon grass and choice of meat. It is just like Pho without the broth… oh so delish. Price is great too for approx. $20 we both get our fill. The spring rolls are pretty good too. The best part is the Vietnamese owner (or worker) who is so sweet and friendly. If you are ever in St Catharines check out Fresh Rolls on Forth Ave.

Making the Cold Spring Rolls- Vietnam

Travelling to Vietnam was an amazing adventure. We loved the city, the people and the food. The beach and the simple life was fantastic. Laying by the pool or on the beach was relaxing and filled our heads full of dreams for a return visit and more vacations like this. Coming into Vietnam was a little adventurous as we had to get rerouted due to a typhoon. Landing in a strong cross wind jerked the plane and gave the heart a jolt like it does when on some roller coaster ride that suddenly drops.  The pilot did a great job and landed us smoothly and safely.

After a busy school year for me  and my husband just writing a HUGE exam we were dreaming about time together and relaxing. He has been watching some travel web sites for good deals and yesterday we ventured off to the travel agent and booked another vacation to Cuba. This will be our third trip to the sunny island and we are dreaming of fun in the sun, the music and great people. Cuba is not a destination for food, as their cuisine is bland and limited to what they can import. Mojotos and fresh fruit are always on the menu and that is good enough for me :) SO more adventures await as I dream about the soft powdery sands, turquoise waters and gentle salt filled breezes…

Don’t forget to check out the photo challenges and stay tuned for more…

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge x3: Food, Adventure & Dreaming

  1. I am still dreaming of travel to Vietnam. Love the way you put all three challenges into your one post. Great food shots. That Pho looks incredible!

    • Thanks… it was easier to do this week. Vietnam was a place I enjoyed. The street chaos, the people, the food and just the gentle nature or atmosphere made it one of my favourites. It was a place I never thought I would visit, but SO glad we did.

  2. That was nice! Do you like Vietnamese cuisines? Have fun!

    • Yes I love it! I love lemon grass and the hot peppers. I don’t usually like the Western idea of hot, too spicy and kills the flavour, but Asian peppers add flavour and KICK! The food is light and filling… seems better for you too with a mix of lots of veggies and just a little meat.

  3. We took a cooking class in Thailand and Cambodia earlier this year —and, you guessed it, we also made spring rolls!

    Yes, Vietnam is a great place to spend some time and the Pho is delicious.

    Lovely photos and how clever of you to squeeze three challenges into one post! :)

    • It saves time putting the 3 into one. I have done 2 in 1 before, but not 3. I would love to go to Cambodia next. Did you go to Siam Reap? My husband wants to go to Thailand to the beaches… hopefully before we leave China.

      • We took a few days to explore the Angkor Wat temple complex in Siem Reap and I also managed to do a few days volunteer teaching (TEFL) at a school in Battambang. Cambodia is a great country to visit. Wouldn´t have missed it for the world.

  4. Lovely post – and the Pho sounds wonderful!

  5. A bowl of Pho and a couple of spring rolls will make me very happy. Great idea of combining 3 in 1 post!

  6. What can be more perfect than this? Just a beautiful example of pursuing our dreams and facing a life of adventures. A delicious food, being close to the beach, having a great time with family and friends, these are what having a “great life” is all about. And I love Pho-my and spring rolls. delicious to the last bite or sip! Thank you. Have a fun weekend!

    • All the ingredients of a great life ;) I had pho for the first time in April and it quickly became my new favourite food. All the flavours together make it amazing. Thanks for the comment.

  7. Oooh, I adore pho – it’s such a wonderful mix of spices and herbs and lime. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. Can’t wait to read about your adventures in Cuba! Have a mojito for me. :)

    • Will do! Pho was a happy find I am glad I was brave enough to try… and took a chance in the hot humid sun. Was surprisingly refreshing. I agree the mix of flavours makes your taste buds dance ;)

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  9. 3 into 1: great idea :) Hmm your photos makes me hungry! Great post!

  10. Great work my friend

  11. I wouldn’t mind a bowl too! Lovely post.

  12. I remember these posts….it was when I first started following your blog thanks to Jennifer Avventura. I would love to go to Vietnam and especially love the food! Someday I’ll make it there! The beaches look amazing too. I dream of going on a vacation with just my husband but it is a little more complicated with the kids. :)

    • Thanks for following :) Vietnam is a long way to travel from this side of the world. A few teachers have done it with kids and just went at a slower pace and spent a bit more time at the beach ;) I’d love to go again and see the floating markets and rice terraces.

      • It is truly on my “bucket” list. I wish it wasn’t so expensive to travel with kids.

        • It is easier when we are so close. Vietnam Airlines was also the only direct flight and the cheapest from Shanghai… it can still cost almost as much as from here unless you book well in advance. Careful planning is key.

  13. Very creative way to combine everything! And your pictures are beautiful :)

    • Thanks :) This week was easy to do that. I’ll have to try it again when the things don’t link together as much… that will be a challenge.

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Just Snaps

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Chittle Chattle

  16. Freda Goulet

    There is a Vietnamese restaurant here in Brantford…Quan 99…must check out their menu to see if they serve Pho…haven’t been there for some time. Perhaps you and I could have lunch there, Diana!
    Great blog…as usual!

  17. Freda Goulet

    I checked and Quan 99 serves pho!

  18. Well my vote is a great big yippee on the combination. Vietnam is on my list…even more so now. Saw a post that reminded me of you…showing seahorses on kebab sticks. ;)

  19. Lovely post, with a combination of themes. Great idea. Vietnam is one of the places I’d like to visit…*sigh*, so many places to see:-)

    • I know I wish I could travel full time and work occasionally not the other way around. ;) it is easier living in Asia for work since things are closer.

  20. I missed an opportunity to go to Vietnam when one of my best friends went back to visit her family and I had to say no (I was getting married). We have great pho here in Toronto too. Hmmm, I’m getting hungry :)

    • Ya Toronto is a great place for so many authentic dishes… I don’t get there enough when I am home. Besides I eat too much when I am home and then regret it ;)

  21. Great blog. I am nominating you for the Super Sweet Award. I have not posted my nominations yet as I am writing this but wanted to give you a head start. Congratulations!

What do you think eh?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

