Rant about Kindness

Last week I read another person’s blog entitled “Be Kind Rewind”. They mentioned how we used to see those signs at local video stores and now with a new age of DVDs that slogan no longer has meaning or a place due to our advances in technology. Their thought was what about reinventing the slogan to be kind to each other… go back and review some action and think about being kind. They spoke a lot about the rudeness of people in public -pushing to be first when there is a line wait ahead of them. Why is their time more valuable than yours? With more advanced technology things take less time, but we seem to rush more. Does that make it OK to be rude? Take advantage of others? Slow down, breath and read on…

So to go back and think about Be Kind, Rewind. Their post inspired me and I responded with the following. I thought it fitting to share with you as well.

Yes we all need to be kinder! I am living in China and rudeness is a way of life here. I guess I cannot blame them as it can be survival of the fittest. If you don’t push to get on the train or metro it isn’t going to wait for you. Does it matter that it would be easier to let the other passengers off first? Well apparently common sense is not that common here so elbows up and push on. As outside people live her longer their common courtesy wanes and they forget manners, observing social graces and lines. Just yesterday I was at the grocery store and waiting behind a woman who was checking out. I noticed the lane beside me was now empty so I went to move into the new lane only to be pushed aside as a western customer rushed past me to be first. How was this fair? I had been waiting already and you just came along and not only that pushed me out of the way me to be first. Well if you are in that big of a hurry then by all means! Your time must be more valuable than mine! Geesh. It certainly makes me cynical as I see the rudeness on a daily basis. I guess I haven’t been here long enough to always push back or speak up.

Just the other day I had a discussion about someone who was truly kind, generous with their time and helpful when I first arrived in China. They made a huge impression on me and made my transition to a new life, home and culture so much easier. The reply I got was why can’t we all be more like that every day? After all we live in a global village and all have the same purpose in life to some extent. If we all stopped to help each other once in a while then maybe our life and world could be a kinder and gentler place? Nice idea… so as a starting point maybe next time we are on a flight, delayed, or waiting in line we can make conversation and maybe make new friends rather than an enemy as we fight over space and complain about lost time. Two things we can never get back is words once said and time once lost… so why not make the best of them?

I always try to say thank you, smile and acknowledge people. It is harder when you can’t communicate a lot, but a smile transcends all languages and learning how to say “thank you” in the local language is often appreciated no matter where in the world you are. That is a start right?

Last year I read a book to my class about how each person in life carries a bucket and we fill other buckets when we do, say kind things and are helpful to others. We can empty it when we say or do something that is mean, hurtful or inappropriate. Everyone should have a full bucket! How many things do you in a day that fills someone’s bucket? empties it? Maybe it was unintentional, but that is why we need to stop and Be Kind, Rewind…

So something that is long over due… I thank each and every one of you for listening and taking the time to read my post each week and sometimes replying back (it is good to know someone is reading ;)!!!).

Thank you and stay tuned for more of my adventures and rants…

Categories: Culture, everyday occurances, unique experiences | Tags:

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Rant about Kindness

  1. Freda Goulet

    Hi Diana, I couldn’t help think about Confucius as I read your blog. I think he was Chinese, and he had it right all those years ago:Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. How simple, and what a wonderful world if everyone followed The Golden Rule! Our buckets would be full, for sure. Just keep on being pleasant ….that is you!
    Aunt Freda

  2. Leslie

    =)

  3. Amy

    Faithfully reading and soaking up your experiences!

