ABC Award – not just for family anymore

I started a blog with the encouragement from Amy & Mary to write about our unique travel experiences of life here in China. It wassomething I wasn’t sure about, but allowed me to be creative, have an outlet and keep in touch easily with everyone at home. I have religiously blogged each week (85 to date —although I may have missed a few odd weeks here and there). It started to become fun and I aimed for being picked by Word Press as “Freshly Pressed”. A daily honour that goes to a few blogs to be posted on the home page. It increases traffic to your humble musings and would create a sense of accomplishment for being recognised. I haven’t reached that goal yet, but will continue to try.

Yesterday I blogged about my cooking class and soon after I was given a nod from Jennifer for that blog as she picked me as one of her ABCs “The Awesome Blog Contest”. The rules are simple and the idea came from this post . Click on the links to read their posts and learn more. It gave me a warm fuzzy feeling that someone read my blog and liked it. Someone other than friends and family read my blog and they didn’t even have to! So thank you to Jennifer for taking the time to read my humble words, share them with others and give me some recognition and sense of accomplishment. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read, comment and share with me each week.

So now onto the next steps:

The Rules:

1. Add the ABC logo to your new blog post. (check)
2. ABC about yourself using one word or phrase. (see below and check)
3. Nominate however many blogs you wish. (check)
4. Let the recipient know via a link in their comments. (check)

My ABC’s:

A. Ancient Architecture & Australia
B. Brilliant Barcelona
C. Crazy Canadians – Canadian Travel Bugs
D. Delicious Dumplings
E. Excited & Honoured to be Selected for ABC
F. Frequent Fireworks
G. Great Wall & Gelato
H. Holly – my cat
I. Interesting Italy
J. John, my husband
K. Kindle or not to Kindle?
L. Loves to Travel
M. Mayan Ruins in Mexico
N. Natural Niagara Falls
O. Outside Ontario
P. Phabulous Philippines – Coco Beach
Q. Quick & Quirky Wit
R. Ruins in Rome
S. Sassy & Sensational Shanghai – my new home
T. Teaching & Trailing Spouse
U. Unique travel experiences
V. Vivid & Vivacious Varadero, Cuba
W. Wish to Travel More
X. Xi’an & (e)Xpat abroad
Y. YYZ
Z. Zany Zebras

Now for my nominations…

1.Post about travel in Peru    http://freeatheartblog.com/2012/03/03/cuzco-so-far/

2. Travels in Segovia, Spain   http://happyoncehappytwice.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/segovia-spain-part-1/#comment-82

3. Amazing Pics and series of posts about Angkor Wat, Cambodia     http://leephelpsphoto.com/2012/02/11/the-temples-of-angkor-part-i/

Enjoy and stay tuned for more…

Categories: reading, Uncategorized, unique experiences | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “ABC Award – not just for family anymore

  1. Girl … kindle, yes, kindle! I love mine and waited forever to buy and now I have it I can’t put it down. Bought it in Canada and have brought it to Sardinia and the Wireless works great!!!

    • I am thinking a Kindle will be good too… especailly after lugging a heavy suitcase from Toronto to Shanghai filled with books to read. Nothing can replace the feeling, smells and look of a book though… Thanks.

      • You are right, nothing can replace the feel and smell of a real book. I’ve been there, lugging books around the world, really was a pain! Now with my kindle, I travel much lighter, leaving room for other fun things along the way. 😉 I bought the Kindle 3G Touch. Took me a few years to convert, wish I would have done it sooner. Let me know when you buy one! 😉

  2. congratulations on the award! it’s nice to see my award travelling around and being enjoyed!
    you might also enjoy my other blog http://algarveblog.net/ about our move to live in Portugal
    and great alphabet too!
    PS – Kindle Kindle Kindle !!! I LOVE mine!

    • I am getting the feeling that a kindle is a good choice -especailly for those overseas… lost are the days of having nothing English to read 😉
      Thanks… and I will check out your blog too.

  3. Congratulations on your ABC Award!
    As the originator of this award you may be interested to know that I have now set up a Facebook group for all bloggers who have been given the ABC Award – a place for you to meet new bloggers, and share and support each other. You can join the group here:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ABCaward/?bookmark_t=group
    Please also let any other bloggers, that you know have been given the award, know about this group too – then we can all ‘spread the word’
    I have also set up a Facebook page – the ABC Award – where you can now add links to all of your blog posts and writing – share your work with a new audience, gain new readers, and find out what other ABC Award bloggers are writing about.
    You can find the page here:
    https://www.facebook.com/ABCaward?bookmark_t=page
    Just ‘like’ the page and get started – and do let all your blog readers know about this page – I believe that all of our blogs can only be improved by letting our readers know about other blogs – that way you will also have new readers discover you too!
    Happy blogging – and congratulations again on the ABC Award – you’re awesome!

    • Good idea… thanks for doing this. Now I just need to get a Facebook account 😉 Seriously I held out and then we moved to China and it is blocked here, so I never bothered. I will be sure to let my nominations know about it though.

