Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue

Well without any explanation the new challenge was posted and the theme is blue…

Blue at first thought means sadness and loneliness… then I looked around my wardrobe and home and saw most of the things that I own that are BLUE… My wedding colours included a turquoise BLUE,  most of my clothes are BLUE and I prefer writing in blue ink. All this BLUE doesn’t make me sad, so time to readjust my thinking and think BLUE…

In China the city maintenance trucks are blue and the city workers all wear blue… I see it every day, but that is not my favourite or first thought of things blue; they didn’t quite fit my image either. Further reflection (hee hee link to the unofficial challenge from Ailsa at Where is my Backpack?) I thought about why I like BLUE so much.

Living in Shanghai for almost 2 years now I realized maybe why I tend to steer towards BLUE colours… I miss BLUE 😦 ‘What are you talking about?’ you may wonder… well I miss the BLUE sky. It seems to be cloudy, smoggy or dull and drab so rarely do we see BLUE sky. The sun is a little orange disk that you can stare into and when you take a photo it is so faint it barely shows up, only visible to the naked eye. I miss the BLUE sky, fluffy clouds and bright sunshine that I used to take for granted.

I also love a beach holiday with sun, sand, and surf… the turquoise blue waters…. so soothing for the soul.

So here is a collection of photos in a slide show to represent  BLUE… I guess I am feeling a little BLUE after all 😦 but these pictures show my fav BLUES…

One shows the amazing skyline taken from the World Financial Tower with no blue sky 😦 but the view is amazing.

Another is bright blue Christmas lights from last year (2010) at Thumb Plaza near our house in PuDong. With little clear sky and so much light pollution stars are also rare if not impossible to see. These lights made me think about driving up North or in the country back home and seeing so many stars that the night sky just glistens…

And the ultimate blue… at the beach on a picture perfect day in Cuba 2008.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stay Tuned… so many ideas of what to post about next…

As always play nice and please ask before using or reproducing any images or text 🙂

Categories: Photography, post a week, teaching overseas, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue

  1. John Y

    Hello Diana

    Awsome,You should be writing books!I think everyone would agree!Travel books and kids books. What do you think everyone?

  2. When we go camping we almost always lie outside, watch the stars appear slowly in a dark blue sky and then count all the satellites and shooting stars.

    • There is something magical about the night sky… something so many city dwellers miss. Christmas I went home and my brother lives out in the country and I forgot how beautiful the night sky looked!

  3. A very interesting post, CTB. I didn’t realize that Shanghai was so polluted. great buildings, though. I especially like the Christmas lights. Really nice! Here’s my blue: http://wp.me/p1TywS-su

    ~Anne

    • HI Anne,
      I just found this in my SPAM… sorry about that. Thanks for the visit and link. I’ll be sure to check it out.
      Slowly Shanghai is becoming polluted too. 😦

  4. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and sending a LIKE my way. It brought me here to you and I really love your blog. I look forward to following your posts. I love your photos depicting BLUE (especially the beach in Cuba … so inviting). 😀

  5. Freda Goulet

    I agree totally with John…you should be writing. I love the night sky, and the blue sky, especially with white fluffy clouds. Ronda gave Josh a really neat gift a few years ago…a star named for him. He has a certificate with all of the info . How unique is that?

  6. Nice post & photos – I love the Christmas lights – and the beach is wonderful – even the chairs are blue!

  7. Beautiful pictures. The beach in Cuba is my favorite. I can look and stare on it the whole day. I like how the blue chairs where facing each other. Reminds me of friends, just relaxing at the beach, sharing their hopes and dreams followed by generous laughter. Inspiring. Thanks.

  8. Dee

    I love the beach one. My body relaxes just looking at it.

