Weekly Photo Challenge: Friends

This week Word Press has set out Friends as our Photo Challenge. Working with kids I have many photos of friends, but I am not sure if I could post those here without permission, so I went on a hunt in the archives. I love scenery photos and animals, so to find friend pics was hard. I did find some with friends, but thought how can I pick one friend and not another? I don’t want to offend anyone by posting something they find unflattering, or using one and not another. I think I was finding it all too hard since my first thought of friends was a great shot that I really wanted to post. Unfortunately it is on film and in a storage locker in Canada. It was a cool shot of my wonderful cat Holly and my school pet hamster, Critter. Holly loved Critter and took care of him like her baby. He loved her too especially her fur and would use her it to line his nest. Interesting set of friends that are hopefully together in pet heaven today.

I happened upon another animal friend pic though. My parent’s dog Molly loved Holly and would want to play with her, but Holly would have none of her antics. Molly would bark very loud and that was it, Holly would run away or swat Molly on the nose as if to say “BE QUIET!”. The friendship was all one-sided with Molly wanting Holly to like her so badly. We have all felt this at one time or another, the need and want to be liked or accepted by another. I think Holly secretly liked the attention and was just trying to play cool since it was her place, so her rules.

Next picture is of me and John on our honeymoon. He is my best friend, partner and soul mate. It is one of those ‘happily ever after stories’ that started with an instant connection. We make each other laugh and we both love adventure and travel. John has stayed by my side and encouraged me to take the big steps in life that I was too afraid to make on my own. With his promise to catch me if I fell I dared to leap.

Happily Ever After

Check out the main page to see more interpretations of Friends or post your photo and link back to the main page so we can all share. You don’t need to be an expert, just something captured on film.

Please play nice all images are property of CTB and cannot be used without my permission.

Stay tuned for more…

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Friends

  1. Ah … Molly & Holly! They are so cute. Your honeymoon photo is pretty neat too!

    • Thanks.
      Molly LOVED Holly and you ask her” where is the pussy cat?” and she goes crazy looking for her. She probably misses her old friend since we moved to China. Molly is a small dog and probably thought they were both the same 😉

  2. love both of these and the stories…animals are so entertaining

  3. Freda Goulet

    Our “furry” friends who love us so unconditionally….I have heard that having pets lowers our blood pressure and keeps us healthier. Not sure our human partners do as great a job!
    Great blog , Diana.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship via WordPress « Janet's Notebook

  5. the cat photo is great, but the honeymoon photo is perfect – congratulations on finding your soulmate – and appreciating that!

    • Thanks 🙂 You can see the cat is not happy with her ears back. She was about to run. Yes my husband is great. He is a keeper 😉

  6. Ahh, lovely, the second picture is truly the best. Love it very much. Love the silhouette for I love that kind of picture. And this, kissing in bright sunshine, wow..

    • Thanks… it was tricky to get it with the auto timer function, but it was fun 😉
      Thanks for the comment and stopping by.

  7. Just adorable images. My favorite is the “happily ever after.” I think it’s something we all hope for. beautiful!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close « Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

