Nothing is Impossible

This week a friend of mine sent me an email that I thought was a forward from the title. As I read it I realised it was her thoughts and words from the heart. With life so busy, depressing and messages of despair we sometimes forget how to be happy and celebrate the little things that bring us joy. For me personally, lately there have been a lot of things going on with family, work and the world that have brought me to tears on more than one occasion. How do we rise above it? How can we be happy when surrounded by negative energies? It is not easy and each day I find it a struggle at times to not let the little things get me down… be happy, find joy and laugh.

For this week’s post I am hosting a guest. You will know her from comments on my posts, but I have known her since college. We always ‘wax the poetic’ when together. Soon as I read this, I emailed her said “you need to post this, or be my guest blogger!” Without hesitation she sent me her approval and here it is from Lavender Lady… enjoy!

With all the sad and scary news in the world it could be easy to see life’s cup as half empty. I choose to see it as half full. There are a few people who have made headlines that inspire me to reach farther …to see how life’s cup can be filled to the brim. These are people who live the quote from Audrey Hepburn “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!”

Mike Strange, a former Olympic boxer from Niagara Falls, Canada. He was deeply touched by friend’s battles with cancer so he decided to pick up the fight from where Terry Fox (another inspiration) was forced to stop. Mike is almost finished that run across Canada. He started April 12 2012 from Thunder Bay Ontario and will finish in Victoria British Columbia… 82 days of running …40 km per day..approx 3000km in total distance. www.boxrun.ca

Wes Prankard, a 13 yrs old boy from Niagara Falls who said “I CAN”. He has seen the great need that our northern communities have …needs that include children’s right to play. Among other things that Wes is doing to make their life better, he’s raising money for these children to have playgrounds. To do this he formed an organization called “The Northern Starfish” (inspired from a story called “The Star Thrower” by Loren Eiseley) This 13 year old boy has travelled to many places to speak, to raise awareness, to raise money and to raise hope. www.northernstarfish.org

Nik Wallenda, a man who just made history by walking on a tightrope across Niagara Falls. It was daring and exciting. He saw what he wanted to do and said “I can.”

Spencer West, a man who reached the peak of Kilimanjaro with his team. His legs were amputated when he was 5. Later in life when he joined with “Me to We” to build a school in Kenya he had a realization. “Suddenly, I understood that I was different for a reason. I was different because I needed to show others that it doesn’t matter what your abilities are or where you come from in the world. If you work hard, never give up and laugh a lot, you can achieve anything. I’m living proof, this year, I’ll return to Kenya to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to raise money to bring sustainable water programming to East Africa.” http://www.metowe.com/personalities/spencer Spencer recently reached the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro. He looked at that mountain and said, “I can.”

And while these last two people on my list have not been recent news, they have inspired me all the same.

J.K. Rowling, the author of the Harry Potter series. I adore the books and how wonderfully they were written. Those stories took me on an amazing journey. Her ability to write such amazing tales is inspiration enough but her life story is all the more inspirational. She spent many years of her life to make her dream a reality.

Walt Disney, who said, “It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.” He had a vision of providing entertainment for the entire family. Creating a place through movies, t.v. and hard work that a family could come together and enjoy. When they told him he was crazy for building on swamp land. That no one would come. He looked at them and said “I can do this.” “If you can dream it you can make it happen.”

I write this for my children, may they always say, “I can”. I’ll leave you all with these words from another inspirational Canadian, Jack Layton. “My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.”

Hats off to you Leslie for sharing these amazing people, thoughts and inspirations with us. May we all continue to hope, dream and make the world a better place. We may not be able to change the world, but we can change our own by trying. 🙂

Stay tuned…

Categories: everyday occurances, post a week | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Nothing is Impossible

  1. I added a few more links and some pictures Leslie, hope you don’t mind 🙂
    CTB

  2. Freda Goulet

    Wow! What an inspiring blog. I truly think we can spread positive energy that radiates outward with each positive thought and action that we have and do. I often send positive thoughts and energy to friends and family who are at a distance. Thanks for this great reminder to be positive and happy. We CAN change our world, one positive thought at a time.

    • It certainly isnt easy… Life can so get you you down. You have to look for the good even in the worst circumstances.

      • Freda Goulet

        I agree, Diana….sometimes it is difficult to find something “good”…but it is there. We just have to be positive and persistent. We all have bumps in the road that seem like such stumbling blocks…but they are just “bumps”!

  3. A beautiful and inspiring post. Love all the Niagara references. I try to always look at life as half full rather than half empty. I hope all is well with you and you find your half full cup … 😉

  4. Spiritual World Traveler

    Thank you! Need some inspiration these days!

  5. Leslie

    Thank you. A candle looses nothing when you share its flame. What / Who inspires you?

    • Wow who inspires me? I guess many people I have met along the road… It reminds me of the email ‘people come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime’. A fleeting moment can change your path, ideas or outlook as much as someone who stands by you throughout your life. Many people have inspired me…. for different reasons. Is it bad I can’t pick one?

  6. Freda Goulet

    My grandson, Josh, every time I am with him! I love hearing his opinions and thoughts. They are so unspoiled and pure. He is just 10 years old…hasn’t learned to be cynical…yet! I am inspired every time I walk in the early morning as the sun comes up and the birds start chirping. I love the smells, the quietness, the promise of a new day. I feel truly blessed.

  7. Thank you for sharing these inspirational stories and thoughts! Well said, “…but we can change our own by trying.”

    • Thanks. As my husband says “we are nothing without dreams”. If we don’t try we can’t change anything.
      Thanks for stopping bye.

  8. Like the magical Niagara Falls, your words flowed so beautifully, inspiring everyone to say, “I can too.” We need to be a world where people encourage each other, to love than hate , to give instead of being self absorbed. Thank you.

    • I cannot take all the credit here. My friend wrote this and things just flowed for her… I needed to hear it and I thought maybe others should too. It came on a bad day and lifted me up.
      When we are surrounded by good friends and love then nothing is impossible!
      Thanks for stopping by and all your wonderful comments. Much appreciated.

  9. Reblogged this on Patchwork Ponderings and commented:
    Last year my friend shared this post. Again I’m reminded of how nothing is impossible if we keep reaching for our dreams. The heart stirring “I have a dream” speech, 50 years later, is still inspiring people to ‘judge each other by the content of their character.’
    L K-B, Patchwork Ponderings

