Merry-Go-Round

As promised, I will write a bit more about Niagara and the wonderful attractions it holds; all here in my own back yard. As a kid I loved the merry-go-round at the local fair. It was fun to pick which animal you wanted to ride and your imagination would drift to the surreal and make-believe. I could be a princess on a beautiful white horse, or riding a wild animal on an African safari. I don’t think I ever went to this one in Lakeside Park, Port Dalhousie (a part of St. Catharines, ON) until I was much older, but the child in me quickly returned as I mounted my chosen animal and the old-fashioned organ music started up. Up and down and round and a round is not the most thrilling or adventurous of rides, but the smiles and joy it brings to many is priceless. Sadness fills your heart as the ride and music slows and your daydream is

Old Fashioned Charm

over. The best part about this old amusement ride is the price, still 5 cents a ride, just like the ‘good old days’ when these rides were popular. It is cheap and easy to get back in line for another ride and quickly return to your life of pretend. Today wedding parties come for unique photo shoots, summer day camps, tourists and local families come from all over for a ride. It is easy to buy a string of tickets and go on again and again.

In between rides you can walk out along the pier into Lake Ontario for a view of the water, or Toronto on the opposite side of the lake. You may enjoy exploring the marina, or watch the big ships pass by on their way to the Welland canal to traverse the Niagara escarpment and Niagara Falls between Lake Erie and Lake Ontario. Bring a beach chair, bathing suit or roll up your pant legs to splash in the water. If you forgot one enjoy one of the many benches along the pier and park. Feed the ducks or Canadian geese who are tame enough to get close and follow you as you walk by because they expect any passer-by has a handout. Slowly the kitschy shops and bars are closing up to make way for a new condo development, but if you are lucky the ice cream shops and few souvenir places are still open among the vacant properties.

Port Dalhousie isn’t a big flashy tourist destination that will tantalize and dazzle your senses, but it is quant, quiet and off the beaten path. If you want to learn more about the carousel check out this link. What rides do you like to go on?

I just got a new camera last weekend and I am learning how to use it. What do you think of the images?

As I said in my last post we are heading off to Cuba for a few weeks and we won’t have any gadgets or internet to keep connected, so I will catch up with blogging, comments and you all when we return.

Stay tuned for more about Cuba, Canada and China.

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Merry-Go-Round

  1. Merry-go round is a timeless all time kid’s favorite. Even if we are now in the era of video games and other high tech stuff, a kids world suddenly sparkles whenever they ride these fun and colorful rides. Beautiful post that has a lot of heart to share.

  2. Thank you for the wonderful memories. As a child, teenager and later adult, I spent a whack of time at Lakeside park. Such a brilliant place. When I was old enough I carved my name in to the bar at Kilt & Clover! Aw….I just love this post.

    • Thanks so much… and glad to bring back good memories. I’ll have to see if your name is still on the bar 😉 It is one of the few pubs still open. My Cottage is closed and will be a condo soon 😦 The Lion is also closed. All the other bars in the little alley are still there, but all new names. It is just not the same. Makes me sad… so much change. I am glad the carosel is still there though!

  3. Lovely photos on your new camera. It takes a while to get used to a new one – I´m just doing the same.

    Have a great time in Cuba …. Hmmmmm … it´s about ten years since I was there when we called in on a cruise. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comments. Cuba has slowly started to change. We haven’t been there in 4 years. I’ll post on it when we get back.

  4. Freda Goulet

    Diana, I took Josh and an 88 year old friend to Port Dalhousie a few years ago to enjoy the merry-go-round, the beach and the pier. Your blog brought it all back . I hadn’t been there since my girls were small.. We visited the “Comfort Maple Tree” that same day, the oldest Maple in Canada, maybe North America, I can’t remember. Have you heard of the Comfort Maple? I couldn’t help thinking if only that maple could talk…the stories that would be told.

    • No I don’t think I know about the maple tree… that would make for a good post eh? (eh… maple… Canada…LOL)

      • Freda Goulet

        Yes, it would make a great blog…it is HUGE! It is named after the Comfort family, one of the first families in the Niagara area. It is so huge that even with his arms outstretched around the tree, Josh couldn’t cover the front of the tree trunk. Worth checking out when you get time.LOL!

  5. Freda Goulet

    Diana, There is a lot of info and pics of the Comfort Maple on the net. It tells the history of the family who bought the land. It is definitely part of Niagara’s history, of which most people aren’t aware .

