Weekly Photo Challenges :Signs & Wrong

This week Ailsa over at Where’s My Backpack has set the challenge of Signs. Word Press has the theme Wrong… could be something that is obviously wrong, or something you need to examine more closely to find what isn’t just right. I think the photos I have included could fit both categories so I will combine the challenges this week.

Living in China you quickly notice how not everything translates well. When trying to explain something it can be difficult at times since not every word has a literal translation in both languages. There are books with stories and pictures of such errors. It has been dubbed “Chinglish” (Chines-English). I have seen some good ones, but for whatever reason didn’t capture them on film. Today I decided to go out and try to get a few photos and I happened upon a few good examples. I also snapped a few regular signs of familiar places.

; The water is ankle deep… I don’t think it is possible to paddle anything.

Speeling? or should it be spelling? Not even close to mean climbing!

The above two were taken in my compound near the large open courtyard that has ponds, rocks andΒ  trees. Many people meet here, dance and kids play. I am guessing the signs mean stay out of the water no climbing, since it is such a draw to kids. Either way they did not translate well. I did look up speeling in case I was missing something. Imagines my surprise when I discovered it is a real word! According to the web site urbandictionary.com it is defined as: An action word used to describe the time late at night when your mind fails to function properly, and various stupid and inane things become hilarious. Now that makes sense… since so many things like this sends me into a fit of giggles, but would even more when over tired πŸ˜‰

Typical Street Sign

Road signs are similar to home, but these can be found at most major intersections. It shows the approaching intersection (street name in hexagon) and next street at each intersection to right, left and straight ahead beside the corresponding arrow. Pretty clever.

The Golden Arches

Pizza Hut

Starbucks

Subway

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to see more examples be sure to check out Ailsa’s site and Word Press. If you are interested you can also join in the fun and show how you interpret the themes. What examples can you share?

Glad to be back after 2-3 weeks missing most challenges since I was away. Stay tuned for more… I hope to get in a post on Cuba before heading to work on Monday… ug yes work already. Where did the time go? All I know it was WAY too fast…

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenges :Signs & Wrong

  1. Freda Goulet

    Great pics of signs…I love the word “speeling”, will have to use it in scrabble!

  2. Wow you have some good ones!

  3. wow that sign that points the truck up – hilarious

    • I think the truck sign is for heavy trucks to keep straight since it is a larger/main road.
      Thank goodness for pictures since most signs are not in English and when they are they don’t always translate correctly πŸ˜‰

  4. No speeling?

    • Yes no crazy over tired laughing… while climbing… apparently this makes sense? Usually it isn’t so far off, just wrong verb or adjective choice.

  5. Interesting signs. Nice to see China through your eyes. πŸ™‚

  6. I will be posting some of my favorite “Chinglish” signs as well later this week I think. After some trips I took recently it really made me laugh. Thanks for your favorites.

    • It is too funny. I now wonder what I am saying… maybe I do the same when I use google translate πŸ˜‰
      Can’t wait to see yours.
      Thanks for the visit.

  7. Pingback: Travel Theme: Signs « East of MΓ‘laga

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge “Wrong” « Jacqueline's Blog

  9. A fun and exciting series of signs! There signs that makes us smile and laugh.

  10. Cool shots, CTB, it’s amazing how powerful branding is – that Pizza Hut sign screamed Pizza Hut with just the red top part. Wow. Love the speeling sign too πŸ™‚

    • Yes… with young kids some teachers are starting to use environmental print since we do ‘read’ it. It helps show kids they can read and not even know it πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the visit… and no speeling! LOL

  11. I wonder if paddling was supposed to mean swimming? Either way, it’s funny.

    • It is always funny to see how things translate. Often they use some translate program or on line thesaurus which just gives options of word choices… doesn’t mean they will all fit or make sense. How would they know that? Makes for more fun for us expats though!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment and stopping by πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Signs: Weekly Photo Challenge | Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

  13. Pingback: Signs of Democracy | Canadian Travel Bugs

