Weekly Image of Life: Beautiful

I have been thinking about this theme for a few days now and had a hard time deciding what to post. Beauty after all is in the eye of the beholder 😉 Maybe it is the jet lag where my thinking is not 100% clear. What could I pick to show beauty? All around us there are many beautiful things. I thought about beautiful sunrises or sunsets, beaches, an awesome landscape, people, colours… What about man-made things? For some beauty is found in things, objects like jewellery or cars…. Beauty….? Big Question Mark ? Then I decided on this.

The beauty of nature as it changes seasons. The colours of fall; red, orange, and yellow are brilliant against bright blue clear skies… the senses come alive with the smells, sounds and sights. The feeling of a warm cozy sweater, a sip of hot apple cider sprinkled with cinnamon, the crush of leaves under your feet… ahhhh….

Autumn is my favourite season. It is funny since it leads to winter; cold and snow which, is my least favourite time. There is something about the way nature paints a picture of brilliant blazing colour that is so magical. As a kid fall meant back to school and a promise of a new year and new things. The excitement of the unknown and challenges that lay ahead were awaiting me with great anticipation.

Bittersweet October.  The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause between the opposing miseries of summer and winter.  ~Carol Bishop Hipps

Brilliant Yellow along Old Welland Canal

When I lived at home, in Canada, I would take a hike along the Bruce Trail and I tried to make it my tradition. The peace and quiet with nature’s beauty and colour all around. Each year would be different from the next. Some years colour was richer and more vibrant… no matter it was always beautiful.

Autumn Jewels

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.  ~Albert Camus

Autumn is beautiful and for me walking the trails was a time to get lost in the beauty around me, think of the future or past. Stress melted away. I felt like the little mouse in the book by Leo Lionni “Frederick” as I collected sights, colours and sounds around me because winter days are long, cold and grey.

SeeIsland Travellers blog for more “Beauty” or to join in the fun.

Stay tuned for more…  CTB  : D

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Weekly Image of Life: Beautiful

  1. my fav season 😉

  2. Freda Goulet

    Diana, you certainly showed the beauty of nature with your words and pictures here. I love the brilliant colors of autumn as well, but prefer the pastel colors of spring with yellow shades and pinks and blues of flowers and shrubs returning to life after a long , cold Canadian winter. Spring also brings the promise of long , hot , relaxing days of summer! I’m definitely a SPRING!

    • Thanks 🙂
      I like the promise of spring, but FALL just gets me everytime… I feel like I am inside a painting or photograph. Maybe all the rain in spring (and indoor recesses) discourage me with spring 😉

  3. I wish Houston has the same magical Autumn color changes like Canada. I see a few browns, orange and yellows but not the brilliant reds and purples. Indeed the last photo shows a spectacular Autumn jewels sparkling like gems. Beautiful images that celebrates the joys of the seasons and its changes. Your are blessed my friend to be a part of this magic. Thank you.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Image Of Life: Passion | this man's journey

  5. Pingback: Weekly Image Of Life: Summertime Blast | this man's journey

