Weekly Photo Challenge: URBAN

This week’s photo challenge is urban. I come from a small town and living in Shanghai is the ultimate URBAN. One thing you will always find in the skyline here is a building crane.

Shanghai  – View  Towards the Pearl Tower from our Apartment

More Building in Shanghai

I was really surprised to see the amount of building going on at home this summer in Toronto… it isn’t home to as many people as Shanghai is, but there is a lot of growth.

Toronto Skyline from the Gardiner Expressway

Building along the Gardiner Expressway – Toronto

Urban to me means growth… things have changed so much since I was growing up. Actually things have changed a lot just since last summer.

Check out Word Press to join in to the photo challenge or see more examples.

Stay tuned…

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: URBAN

  1. Freda Goulet

    I was telling someone just recently that “Urban Sprawl” has not touched the tiny village on The Cabot Trail where I grew up…not even a Tim Horton’s. The mountain at the back and the Atlantic Ocean in front has preserved this little strip of paradise.

    • I haven’t been back since I was a teen… it would be interesting to see it now. I know things at home have changed a lot where i grew up. I see it each time I come home.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Wind Against Current

  3. Woman

    LOL!!! I saw your first picture and all I could think of was… “I’ve been there!” And I was shocked because honestly, all I saw was “Canadian” in your title and I was like, I know I am nuts, but that is not Canada! That is Shanghai!

    LOL!!!

    I so need to read the tag lines on blogs!

    Great pictures!

    • Thanks… yes transplanted Canadian for the last 2 years… now into our 3rd here in China.
      Thanks so much for the visit and glad I kept you on your toes 😉

  4. Wow! Shanghai is spectacular. I went there once and the view of the city from a boat ride at night was amazing. The lights, the buildings, the culture…beautiful!

    • Shanghai is growing so fast. The skyline is filled with building cranes. Even more now then when we first moved here 2 years ago. I was even more surprised with the amount of building going on at home… almost comparable to Shanghai.

  5. Hi,

    my name is Terence and I posted this week’s photo challenge. I would like to put together a gallery of all the amazing submissions and wanted to ask if you would like to participate. If so you simply upload (one of) your photo(s) to the gallery here:

    http://urbanphotographychallenge.tumblr.com

    there is a submit button next to the title – please also add the location and if you have, a title (less important).

    Best,
    Terence

