Canada’s Top Blogs: Reaching for the Stars

Thanks to Jennifer over at My Sardinian Life I found out about a web site that keeps track of Canadian Blogs and it ranks them daily. I have added the link to my sidebar so you can check out my ranking. I am under the TRAVEL Category. I am reaching for the stars or should I say maple leaves.

My goal is to reach the top 100 blogs… I am #4 today for travel. WOW in the top 10 already! Not what I expected at all. How did THAT happen? Not sure what I am overall since I cannot get the site to show me more than the top 25.

Blogging has become my hobby and it is something I really enjoy. Slowly I have grown from 10-40 hits in a week to that many and more in a day! My busiest day was over 100 views. I now have over 100 followers that have registered through Word Press. Each time I post something they get an email alert. Blogging is something that shows you the growth and what you have accomplished over time. To have the stats and see how they have increased shows my accomplishments over time. All the feedback and comments have been so positive and encouraging. Makes it even more worth while.

I have discovered I enjoy writing and I try to paint pictures with my words. Sometimes I am in a hurry, and with a super hectic work schedule I sometimes rush things. I apologize for those quick posts that are put out to fill the weekly gap and don’t have the time to be carefully written and crafted with the creativity that I so enjoy. When I have time or I am inspired the words and ideas flow quickly and effortlessly. Other times I struggle, just as any writer does when they feel the pressure of a deadline.

Writer? AM I becoming a writer? Did I just call myself that? Wow things are really changing. When I started this blog 2 years ago I certainly did not think I would do more than post a few words and ideas about life here in an easy and fast forum to tell people at home what we were up to. Now I look forward to blogging, writing and doing the photo challenges. If I could I would blog more, but with less and less free time I need to pick and choose how much and when to write.On average I post 2 a week… 1 about life here or travel and the other a weekly photo challenge. My two favourite things in 1! Photography and Blogging.

Next will be this site is hosting Blog Awards for the top Canadian Blogs. Stay tuned for how you can vote 🙂

So thanks for reading, following and coming along for the ride and adventure.

What do you do as a hobby?

As always stay tuned… there is always more!

Categories: post a week | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Canada’s Top Blogs: Reaching for the Stars

  1. Yaay! Congratulations, Diana. You´re a great writer, giving a wonderful insight into your life in China as well as on your travels.

    Well done!

  2. I will be with you when you reach for that blogging star. I know that you’ll get it soon because you have the passion in your heart.

    • Awww thanks 🙂 I love to blog and just wish I had more time. Lately it has been a little too busy. I enjoy reading as well as participating and I haven’t had the time to do either as much as I would like. I am hoping things will settle down soon and I can catch up.

  3. Congratulations! How exciting, Diana! Thank you for sharing the great news!

    • Thanks… it just keeps getting better! I am afraid one day it will just all level off. Each little thing so far has been a surprise; it has been a fantastic ride. It wouldn’t be possible without readers, followers and commenters like you!

      • Reading posts you have created, it’s such a treat. So happy you are awarded!

        • Thanks Amy… well it is just a placement site and it will change everyday. They are doing ‘awards’ and that is coming soon. I found out about this site from Jennier. It is a way to track Canadian blogs and get more exposure. So fingers crossed I “win” when the awards are open.

  4. You’ve been this wonderful, creative woman for a long time. I can’t believe after all this time you’ll ever “level” off !

  5. Nice going and congratulations – you have a great blog!

  6. Freda Goulet

    Congratulations, Diana, on your writing award. I look forward weekly to enjoying your blog. You paint wonderful pictures with your words. There is always something interesting as well as informative to read in your blogs….onward and up to the star!!

    • Thanks very much, but no award… yet! I have been added to this site and they just place Canadian blogs daily based on daily views. It is my readers that placed me at number 4 on Sunday, 11 on Monday and 8 yesterday. This web site will be having awards soon. It will be announced and then I will have to ask the readers to vote 🙂

