Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

Solitary… alone, lonely, isolated… This week’s photo challenge is solitary. Most photos we take are of friends and family together or in groups, so to truly find something to fit the definition could be tricky.

I saw this tire swing driving this summer and each time we passed it I wanted to stop and take a photo. It was interesting and a dying breed. Most children have swing sets purchased from a store, or go to the park where there is large expensive climbing equipment. This swing reminded me of those feel good movies and my childhood, but this one was in a big yard, alone… There were never any children on it as it rocked gently in the summer breeze…

Here is my entry for solitary… a lonely swing of days gone by in the setting sun.

What is solitary to you? Share your photos or see more entries here.

Stay tuned…

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

  1. Timeless 🙂

  2. Spiritual World Traveler

    Love it!

  3. Freda Goulet

    I can’t remember the last time I saw a tire swing….you are right, a dying breed in this age of technology!
    To me, “solitary” is that first star, in the dark sky on a clear night, before it is surrounded my a myriad of other stars!

  4. they were the best swings in the world

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « patriciaddrury

  6. Beautiful photo. Yes, it did remind me of the old days where life is simple yet full of joy and adventure. I used ride one of this rubber tubing hanging on a tree as a kid. Back then, we don’t have to go to big theme parks or have a video game to have fun.

    • Exactly! Now it has to be big, loud and obnixious to be considered fun by most. I guess I am getting old and longing for days gone by. I used to laugh at my parents when they said things like that 😉
      In a way it made me sad to see this swing… never any children playing on it. I think that is why I used it for solitary.

  7. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Solitary. « 3rdculturechildren

  8. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Solitary. « 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: Weekly photo Challenge: “Solitary” – To loneliness « Just another wake-up call

  10. Leslie

    Solitary = lonely?? No way. I treasure my time alone. Its peaceful and time to think. When I see your tire swing I remember the hours my son would spend happily swinging in our back yard.

    • Well I like my alone time… nothing better than an empty classroom 😉
      I just think the swing looked so sad and lonely with no children ever palying on it. We drove by this swing everyday and it just sat empty. Maybe I should have jumped on and asked John for a push 😉

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Becca's Photo Blog

