Flat Stanley Leaving on a Jet Plane

I’m leaving on a Jet Plane. Don’t know when I’ll be back again…


Well it is that time again. Flat Stanley is leaving Shanghai and heading to numerous parts around the world. Flat Stanley is a primary school novel and in it he goes to visit a friend in California via the postal system thanks to his convenient ‘flatness’. A fellow Canadian came up with the idea to do the Flat Stanley Project with his students. He took the novel by Jeff Brown and got his kids mailing the little guy to friends and family all over the country and world. It encouraged their reading and got them excited about it. In other adaptions, children take their own personal Flat Stanley and write a journal about his adventures.

World wide Stanley has been to most places in the US and Canada. He also has met the president of the USA and was on American Idol! With my Year 3 class 2 years ago I planned the unit and each student in Year 3 (as well as the other 3 classes in the school and some of our EAL classes) took their own Stanley and wrote about what they did on holiday. It was a great success and it really improved the kid’s writing. We also shared the journals and photos in class, made it into a class book and even did an assembly with him! Last year we repeated the project and I went to Xi’an with him. Other teachers, visiting Xi’an, spotted the “celebrity” and came over to ask about where we were from. You can read about that adventure here.  This year is no exception and in a few hours Flat Stanley, John and I along with another teaching couple from school will be heading to Seoul, South Korea for some more adventures!

This was a last-minute booking since the school just returned our passports Wednesday of this week! Yesterday was spent finishing report cards, which are due right after the holiday. All that work out-of-the-way we are ready for a short get-away and adventure.

Stay tuned for more adventures… with Flat Stanley too!

Update: Someone has added extra links to this post! The only links I have included are for the Flat Stanley Project and my post from last year. If anyone knows how to avoid this or remove the links please comment below. Thanks.

Categories: post a week, reading, teaching overseas, travel | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Flat Stanley Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. What an excellent idea! I started taking a teddy bear called Edward with me on our travels, a few years ago, taking his photograph at places all over the world. The project started as a result of me knowing a teacher in England who was teaching his class all about New Zealand. I vowed to take photos of Edward in New Zealand, blog about it, and send the children postcards and maps from Edward, whilst we were away. The class followed the blog and sent Edward (and me) lovely thank -you letters for when we got home.

    I like taking Edward with me on my travels, so I´ve kept it up ever since 🙂 I should do a FLAT version of Edward, too!

    Maybe your children would like to have a look at Edward´s adventures, Diana?
    http://www.flyingsouthforthewinter.wordpress.com

    • Thanks so much Marianne. They would love to see your adventures. I have a little beaver I bought my first solo trip and it goes with me on each trip. I never wrote about his adventures, but maybe I should 😉

  2. Freda Goulet

    Have fun on your holiday in Korea. Take lots of pictures, and I am looking forward to reading about your adventures.

  3. Having been a 1st and 2nd grade teacher and after teaching English in Korea.. this is an Excellent idea… it’s exactly what they should be doing more of in public education in the U.S. I have a friend who has a facebook page for her “monkey” who has been mostly to U.S. locations around the world. seriously love this.. thanks for posting. Same to Marianne..

  4. Enjoy your adventure with Flat Stanley! Looking forward to hearing from you!

  5. What an exciting trip. Flat Stanley had me all glued to my seat. Thanks…

