New Addition

As you all know last spring I had to put my 16 year old cat Holly down. She became very ill and there was nothing the vet could do. I was very upset to have lost such a great companion. A few weeks ago we went into a pet store and I saw a lovely cat and started think about getting another. We went back to the store and it was sold. Today we went into the shops and saw a few, but none like the first one. We went into Jin qaio (Gin Chow) and saw a pet shop. We wandered inside and saw a cat like the other one we liked. It cuddled right into my arms and purred immediately. It was hard to put this little ball of fur back, so introducing the newest member of our family….

Our new bundle of fluff

Poor thing doesn’t have a name yet. She is grey in colour and we are thinking pearl, or willow… but maybe in Chinese since she was bought here. Any ideas?

Stay tuned….

 

Categories: post a week | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “New Addition

  1. A little Persian, what a cutie! More pics, more pics!

    • She is an exotic shorthair (part persian and something shorthair). They also call them the lazy man’s persain due to the short hair. She was so calm in the shop. I held her for about an hour and she stayed put. Once home she loves to play and have me chase her… it was hard to get that pic since she won’t stay still! As I speak she keeps running across the keyboard and I have to keep deleting her work!

  2. Freda Goulet

    Diana, She’s a beauty! What a great home she will have! What is the Chinese word for beautiful? or pretty? Would that work as a name?
    It is easy to see that you are the “animal” lover in the Usher family, just as Ronda is in the Siblock family!

    • That is a good idea. I will find out how to say that. I tried a few words in Chinese and they just don’t sound right, or I can’t say them!

  3. Oh she’s beautiful, I hope you put lots of photos as she grows 🙂

    • I will! As I said to Jennifer it is hard to get pics of her since she will not stay still. (I have about 10 blurry ones for the 1 I posted). She was so cuddly in the shop and home she likes to explore, run, pounce and have me chase her!

  4. Leslie

    She’s adorable! I vote for Pearl. You should google it. Pearls are believed to have many benefits.

  5. Leslie

    Oh. Did I mention that we have a new family member? Flair (a calico) joined us in June. Korra (black & white short haired) joined us in September.

    • Hey there… so that is where you have been… playing with the cats! How are they getting along? Send some pics!
      I asked the kids for ideas yesterday and I had Gregory (until they found out ir was a girl), Petunia, Soda AND Pop (not sure they knew I had only 1 cat). I told them our choices of Willow and Pearl and the vote was unamious with Willow, so we have started calling her Willow.

  6. Adorable! Pearl sounds beautiful. 🙂

  7. AAAwwwwwwwwww gorgeous! Look at those eyes 🙂

  8. She is beautiful in every way. I love that she likes you to chase her….shows character.
    I have a few name suggestions going with your theme of grey in other languages.
    I though at first in Persian…but I think ‘khakestary’ might be too much of a mouthful.
    But I like Polish: szary (pronounce it “shah-ri” and the Irish word for grey is “Liath”
    A few thoughts anyway. I am still trying to help The daughter name two turtles.

    • Those are great names… I like the Polish one… my students helped us decide, so I will post shorty and tell you the name and post some new photos.

  9. She is destined to be a part of your amazing family and although she can not replace the beautiful memories you had with Holly, I bet she will fill your heart with love and joy.

    • It is bitter sweet… I still miss Holly and catch myself comparing them sometimes, but Willow’s antics and cute personality is worth it!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

