Travel Theme: Liquid

Rain Rain Go Away… We have been a little soggy in Shanghai this week with 3 full days of rain in a row (ug indoor recess!). Much needed sunshine made a short appearance yesterday, even though itย  was a little hazy. Today I awoke to find it raining again! A little water-logged and damp I decided to take Ailsa’s challenge and find something on the more positive side of liquid. What do you think?

Niagara Falls and the famous Maid of the Mist. 100% chance of getting WET!

Millions of visitors come each year to get up close to the mighty Niagara and get wet!

Watkins Glen – New York State

Watkins Glen is usually a small trickle, but after a rainy summer and very rainy weekend in 2006 it tried to rival Niagara Falls. We didn’t let the soggy weather spoil our camping trip and hike through the glen.

Frozen Liquid

After a bad ice storm with freezing rain in 2007 everything was covered in a coating of ice. In the sun, the next day, everything sparkled and looked like the world was a glass menagerie of beautiful figurines.

Like what you see and want to see other interpretations? Check out Ailsa’s blog for hundreds of more links and how to post your own pics.

Stay tuned for more next week…. and don’t forget to vote for best Canadian Blog before Dec. 1st ๐Ÿ™‚

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Liquid

  1. Beautiful collection of pictures for the theme!

    • Thanks. I spent an hour or so sifting through my USB drives. Worth it when you find one that is just right!
      Thanks so much for always taking the time to comment and visit ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love the last one!!!

    • Thanks. I love the after effect of the ice storm, it is so beautiful. Although the danger and problems it causes with damage to trees, knocking out power and sometimes lives makes it a double edge sword.
      Thanks for visiting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Freda Goulet

    You have just proved that there is a positive side to everything! I love your photos.

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ After 3 days straight of rain and then a rainy weekend I needed something to cheer me up. Rain is best when you can stay home, all snug with a good book.
      Thanks for the comments.

  4. Your frozen liquid is really beautiful. I don’t like the cold, but I do like photos of cold things!

    • I don’t like the cold either. I know shocker how Anti-Canadian of me ๐Ÿ˜‰ , but pictures of cold things are deceiving… so beautiful and sparkly.
      Thanks for visiting and your comment.

  5. Love the ice shot – got lots of those after the storm in ’98 that knocked out everything in se Ontario and Quebec.

    • Yes that was a bad storm… we didn’t have it that bad. Do you live in that area? I know power was out for days! I am sure those living there didn’t see the beauty in the ice as much ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. That last image feels like out-of-this-world!

  7. Beautiful! My favorite it the icy branches–magical!

