My Worst Blogging Fear Came True!

Yes my worst blogging fear came true this week and the colour drained from my face, my heart raced and I started to sweat as I thought how can I ‘undo’ this???!!! Many programs have an undo feature and where is one when you need it?

Let me back up a little… remember how I said that I may go into darkness not due to my own choices, but the internet gods may take control of my fate here in China? With fingers crossed I returned to China after a Christmas break at home and all was well… until Friday. The program I use to allow me to access my blog, when blogs are normally blocked, had a nice friendly little message to say ‘update program’. As any computer program we usually get updates that make them faster, better, come with more options, so without a second thought I hit ‘update’.

Photo Credit: CartoonStock.com

Photo Credit: CartoonStock.com

The happy little message ‘update was successful’ then became my biggest regret a minute later when I tried to turn on the magical program. It was thinking…. and thinking… and the spinning thinking wheel started to make me dizzy. It wasn’t connecting. Oh just slow internet I thought… so I left the computer to think some more and I went off to do a few things. I returned 5 minutes later to the spinning wheel still, well spinning. OK no problem I thought. After 20-30 minutes I started to worry. I shut down the computer and rebooted. This will do the trick I hoped; nope – nada. After endless tries, searching though the program for some sort of help or explanation I couldn’t connect. Can I undo a whole program back to the previous version that worked???? Without this there is no blog!  😦  My worst fear realised: What had I DONE?

I had trouble getting into my internet and search engines too, but somehow managed to finally get on and find the support web page. A blue help box said someone was on-line to help me. I clicked on and sent my message…. ‘7 minutes estimated time of next available operator’ it responded. ARG! This was the longest 7 minutes ever. A very nice person asked me how they could help and I explained my dilemma.

Her response, so matter of fact… yes it won’t work in China.

I quickly typed back what can I do?

Response: It is no longer available in China.

Me: Can I undo the program and restore the old one???

Response: No, it will no longer work you need to try to use an open mode.

Me: I wish I would have known this BEFORE I updated. Why didn’t it have a message to say that BEFORE I updated? How can I access blogs?

Response without a sorry or sympathy: You can sometimes, it is hit or miss.

Me: But I blog every week! Is there another option? Can I not restore the old version of the program because it worked fine.

Response: No, but we are working out some bugs in the program and hopefully it will be available soon. Is there anything else I can help you with today?

Me: No. Thanks.

I should have said ya thanks for crushing my spirits, dashing my hopes and giving me no clear answer. And may I thank you for your cheery and pleasant customer service, happy attitude and total disregard for my predicament as I am FREAKING out!

I was afraid to attempt to get on the blog all weekend in case it was a ‘miss’  but I am very happy I am here today and posting.

Who wouldn't want to hear more about the cutest cat ever?

Who wouldn’t want to hear more about the cutest cat ever?

What does hit or miss mean? I am not sure, but Friday to me it meant that maybe you can get on, maybe you can’t. Chances are more in the sorry about your luck and not getting on blogs period. Lets keep hoping I am on more of a ‘hit’ than ‘miss’ each week and able to access things and post. I don’t want to give up blogging and I am sure you are all very excited to see more photos and hear more stories and adventures of Willow 😉 Really in all seriousness I will keep trying each weekend to post a photo

challenge or travel post as always. If I can’t access things posts may be random or odd days of the week, but if you are a follower you will get the email message sent to your in box that I was successful and we can all do the happy dance 🙂 My husband is still in Canada right now, so he has also offered to post on my behalf. Some how or some way we will get it done.

Stay tuned… I will keep posting for as long as I can.

CTB : D

Categories: everyday occurances, post a week | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “My Worst Blogging Fear Came True!

  1. Fingers crossed! Welcome home 🙂

    • Thanks.
      Lonley in Shanghai since hubby had to stay in Canada. His step-mom has been diagnosed with cancer and she has surgery soon, so he is going to stay and help.

    • Lilly

      What a bummer!!! We relay too much on technology and sometimes a little comma can make an enormous difference,recently I clicked on”would you like to update”on my Ipad and when I went to switch it on later it was completely dead,all the apps,information,photos and videos gone…the explanation at the apple store was that if I am updating and the connection is weak or stops,it wipes out everything!!!!I have the same question you have:why don’t they tell you this before you click the stupid”update button”?!Good luck

      • Yikes that is horrible! It seems like lately too much is placed on the consumer and reading the fine print. We trust the companies we use and hope they will inform us, but it seems like they can’t be bothered. The nonchalant attitude oh well… is frustrating.
        I hope your ipad is restored.
        Thanks for taking the time to share 🙂

  2. how horrid that you couldn’t roll it back. glad you’re online, and if all else fails, you email the text and the images to swet husband who can be your very own personal office assistant!

    • Yes… that is what we may have to do. Hope it doesn’t come to that since I enjoy getting on line and chatting to you all. Thanks for visiting and your good wishes.

  3. Can’t you do a computer system restore’ on yours. this should take it back to a time of choosing before the update..if you do have or tried it, it can be found in control panel.. just a thought…

    • Yes I thought about that, but I am not so technical. I was going to ask one of the computer techies at work who also uses the same program. This seems to be working so far….
      Thanks for the idea though I may have to do that.

  4. Freda Goulet

    Here’s hoping you are able to be on more than off.

  5. I can’t imagine not being able to access my blog, how awful, but you ‘re here this time so fingers crossed 🙂

    • I know it was scary when I saw I couldn’t log on to anything! That is my life line…. especailly now since my hubby is home and I am here.

  6. A temporary glitch, I hope, but UGH! It will be like now you see her now you don’t, until the madness stops! Good luck. I hope there’s more hit than miss too 🙂

    • Thanks Gemma.
      So far so good. Seems that someone is always on top of it though and a step ahead. Let’s hope that continues. At work there are a few techy people that know some tricks, so I am going to talk to them today and hope they have some ideas to keep the ‘lights’ on here at CTB 😉
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  7. Hoping for the best! Willow is rock on adorbz!

    • Yes she is SO cute, so I had to throw that in 😉 She is getting bigger… and can be so naughty though! Funny it showed up my WP reader as the feature picture under the title “Worst Fear Ever!” I laughed because the photo fit the title perfectly.

  8. ((hug))
    I guess ‘they’ had added a touch of mystery, a thrill of anticipation, a sence of adventure to bloging! I can hear Jack Hannah (? from the Sunday show.. Mutual of Omaha (sp) presents..Wild Kingdom). Will he be eatten by the rare snake? Stay tooned. Will she be able to post next week?…or Will the wild internet of China eat her posts?? Notice the tie in with the Chinese New Year coming up?

