Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

I was home in Canada for two weeks, so all of my recent photos are all about Canada. When I saw the theme Illumination I wasn’t sure I would post until I was looking at my trip home and saw photos of the falls lit up at night. Each night the falls are illuminated in colour. As we drove by I snapped a shot, but it just happened to be white at the time. It was also Festival of Lights and along the Niagara Parkway many light displays and trees are decked out in festive colours and lights. It is always a nice drive day or night with something to see. It seemed extra Christmasy with the lights and snow. Enjoy the short slide show of a few illuminated views.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out Word Press for more examples of this week’s theme or to join in the fun.

Stay tuned for more…

 

 

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

  1. Freda Goulet

    Beautiful…and right in our backyard!

  2. We love it! This was the Festival’s 29th year! Winter is my favourite time of the year to see “the Falls” as we call them. As always love your photos!!

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ John was not as happy to drag me to the “falls” on a photo exhibition, but I loved it! Especailly since it was cold and snowy, so it looked extra beautiful.
      I also had to snap a few pics of the “hill” and the old Victorian houses along the Parkway… I am reading a book to my students about the falls and it is nice to show them actual photos of what is in the book. I should get them to draw what they imagine first and see how it compares….

  3. Wow, Niagara illumination!!

    • Yes 365 days of the year!
      The Festival of Lights (with all the light displays) just runs around the Christmas break though. It used to go into January, but fewer tourists travel there in January, so now it starts earlier (late Nov or early Dec) and ends early January.

      • Love to see more pix. πŸ™‚

        • Hi Amy,
          You were spammed and I just found your message! Thanks for stopping by as always.
          I wish I had more pics of the falls lit up. These were taken from the car. I am heading back to Canada this weekend so maybe I will get some more then.

  4. Memories …. πŸ™‚

  5. Gorgeous shots!

  6. I just told my husband after looking at your photos, “Now I have a hankering to go to Niagara Falls.”
    See what you started πŸ˜‰

    • Oops sorry πŸ˜‰ The Falls are lovely any time of year, but most go in the summer when it is crowded and most expensive. January and February are cheaper and if it is cold enough you can see the icy wonderland too! Maybe go for a weekend escape? I would be happy to give you travel tips πŸ™‚

  7. Spectacular and fun.

