Weekly Travel Theme: Glass

This week Ailsa over at Where’s My Backpack has posted the theme Glass. Immediately I thought about my recent trip home where I walked along the Parkway in Niagara Falls. All the trees, fence posts, street signs and lamp posts were in cased in glass, I mean ice thanks to the freezing cold temps. I felt like I was inside of glass menagerie of beautiful figurines. I have seen this phenomenon before and each time it is different, but equally as beautiful. My only wish was I went on a sunny day. How everything would have sparkled and dazzled in the sun light. It was a nice touch that a few days before everything was also covered in snow. It added to the effect.

IMG_2008 IMG_2014

 

 

Bus loads of tourists were in awe of everything encased in so much ice. The additional weight even broke off some branches or bent some trees into usual shapes and designs.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1954

 

Have something you would like to share? Want to see more examples for this theme? Click on the link to take you to Ailsa’s home page.

Stay tuned…

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Weekly Travel Theme: Glass

  1. Freda Goulet

    Beautiful art from nature!

  2. Surreal!

    • It was… just in the places where the wind and mist can reach it was covered in ice. It was cool how some icicles were vertical! I am guessing from the wind.

  3. Incredible! The light on the post is even dripping glass 🙂

    • It was lovely! In the areas where the mist reaches everything was icy. After the snow storm a few days before everything else was covered in snow.

  4. Your pictures are beautiful – the ice is very much like glass!

  5. Love your take on the theme!

    • Thanks. I always try to stretch the theme to less obvious if I can.
      Everything reminded me of glass ornaments made of clear spun glass… only more fragile and less permanent 😉
      Thanks for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  6. In fact you ‘re right …
    in French “glace” IS ice.
    😉

  7. Beautiful!

  8. I came through Niagara Falls one winter–thirty years ago, and have never forgotten the fairy tale beauty of that world. Thanks for sharing it.

    • It is lovely in the snow. Well any season really. Each season has someting great to offer.
      Thanks so much for the visit and taking the time to comment.

