Lost in Translation?

I can’t read Chinese characters other than a few numbers and days of the week. With some English words thrown in and pictures I can usually get the gist of the meaning. At this time of year there are public service announcements everywhere… on flyers, on loud speakers in the metro, at the shops and even at apartment complexes. For major holidays where lots of people are travelling reminders of being kind and orderly are spouted constantly. Let people leave the subway before pushing on, watch your personal belongings… and then there was this sign I saw attached to the bulletin board outside the elevator in my building. What do you think it means?

Public Service Announcement

Public Service Announcement

What the poop?

What the poop?

I can only guess but after dodging ‘landmines’ and seeing animals and people, usually children,but not always going on the road, or balancing over trash cans to do their business I think I have a pretty good idea. Don’t ever assume that water on the sidewalk is water! I can only presume it is such public service reminder that either you should clean it up, so others don’t tramp on it, or don’t go on the street! It is official. It has a chop (stamp) to show it is important. All I can say it made me giggle and I thought I have to get a photo of this for the blog! This is the silly things that make China so unique and different. Maybe I am totally missing the point, but it still makes me laugh out loud.

What is a silly, unusual or unique thing you saw or heard today?

Heading back to Canada next weekend for Chinese New Year, so I may not get a chance to post until Monday or Tuesday. Stay tuned…

Categories: post a week, unique experiences | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Lost in Translation?

  1. Balancing over trash cans? How vile, no consideration for those that have to empty them.

    • Well I guess it is better than on the sidewalk. My co-teacher who is local Shanghainese also cringes and says these are people from the country who don’t think and it is OK there. My brother lives out in the country back home. I should ask him about his habits 😉 Hee Hee

  2. Freda Goulet

    When I first taught out in the country (near where Jim lives) I was amazed at how nonchalantly little boys would pee where ever they happened to be at recess. Some of the more seasoned teachers laughingly told me to teach them to not pee into the wind!!

  3. I figured it meant clean up after you dog. Who knew – people too! Sometimes words are not necessary. 😉

    • With so many street sweepers (they do it by hand) and taxi drivers I guess when you gotta go you gotta go! It is mainly children though… some still wear the split pants without diapers, so they hold them over trash cans and edges of the sidewalk.
      The best was an ayi (like a housekeeper) walking a dog. The dog had to go, so she spread out newspaper for the dog to go on. Easy Peasy clean up 😉

  4. Be careful of dog poo on the sidewalks? 😉

  5. That’s like putting on the coffee cups “Careful hot’. Well duh if you just ordered hot coffee it better be hot ! But I think my favorite is the braille on the instant tellers at drive through bank machines.

  6. The pictures seem to really help!

