Thoughts Anyone?

Hi all,

I have been hoping to blog and post more, but time seems to fly by. Just not enough hours in the day. Life has become busier and free time is almost non existent. This doesn’t really count as a post, but needed some ideas and thought who better to ask then you all…

I am doing a photography class for 7-9 year old students. I love to take photos and thought I could pick themes and set it up similar to the weekly photo challenges for these children. I also thought I should teach them a few tips along the way. So my question is any ideas? What could you suggest to help them learn a bit about photography or any theme suggestions?

I have had an intro class and 1 lesson so far where we talked about zoom. The theme so far I set was winter… I have 6 more classes to go and have a few theme ideas, but thought I would ask for suggestions too. I have them using simple point and shoot cameras, so there is limited ideas of what we could do for photography tips, but there are some rules of thumb out there no matter what type of equipment you are using. I appreciate all ideas. Please post them below in the comment section.

Stay tuned… I will write more on the weekend once I am back in Shanghai.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Thoughts Anyone?

  1. Is it possible to do a street photography theme? Too much? If I think of anything else, I’ll be back. (Yay! Right?)

  2. My Dad told me to take a deep breath and hold it while I took my photo. It helps to steady the shot. This reminds me of when we gave our son the camera at your wedding. There were a lot of photos of his new shoes, the crack in the sidewalk… He would have been that age.
    I wouldn’t give too much of a theme. Simply tell them to take photos of what you like to look at. There’s no wrong way to do that. And life can be very interesting from their view point!

    • Ha ha! But even adults have trouble. Bob got some great grass shots when he was using my camera for me at the wedding 😉 that is a great idea though! Thanks

  3. How about trying the hundred steps like Myfanwy at Chittle Chattle does for her challenge? It really makes you aware of your surroundings.

  4. Freda Goulet

    How about using different angles…looking up, looking down, wide angle. Nature is always fun for children…trees, flowers, animals. They know their family and themselves best…perhaps doing family activities, family fun, pets. Sounds like a great fun with a camera. You will have to post some of their pics.

    • Yes I thought about angles a bit too. I know they do that in art, so it should be good for them to try in another way. Thanks.
      I hope to get some cool shots so I can share 😉

  5. Freda Goulet

    oops..a great fun theme with a camera.

