Weekly Photo Challenge: Kiss

Kiss 😡

My nephews were getting their Valentine Cards ready and I told the youngest to put hugs and kisses on his card to his teacher. He is in Junior Kindergarten, so without a second thought he put the little X’s and O’s on the card.

He said “I want to make some more X’s”

I said “Oh more hugs?”

My brother and husband looked at me funny and said “What??? I thought X’s were kisses?”

I explained that I thought a hug was an X because you crossed your arms around someone… that looks like an X. An O then must be a kiss since your mouth makes an O shape when you kiss. They thought it was hysterical.

What do you think and X and O stand for? A hug or a kiss?

To my husband who is halfway around the world.

To my husband who is halfway around the world.

See more examples of KISS or join in the challenge over at Word Press 🙂

Stay tuned for more next week… or follow me at twitter @Rocse1.

 

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Kiss

  1. Love the photos – as for X and O, I’ve always known ‘X’ to be a kiss, not sure about an ‘O’. However, I don’t sign an ‘x’ on any messages or cards to my husband as he thinks it means cancelled!

  2. Freda Goulet

    Diana, that is funny…I’m now wondering why those two letters became symbols for hugs and kisses. Is this something that is used in other cultures or just with North Americans?
    The important thing is the thought of sending love to someone we care about…xxx ooo.

    • Just as letters represent sounds and combinations have meaning I guess so does the X and O. Looking at Wikipedia it states the X is a kiss and dates back to the middle ages when most people couldn’t write, so an X was placed on documents and then kissed to show sincerity. The O is thought to come from North America and it is not clear how it started. Wikipedia specualtes it shows the encircling of 2 arms in a hug and as they do it makes a circle.
      However Urban Dictonary supports 2 views… the one as above. They also explain X is the first letter in Christ’s name in Greek (Xristos). The other is exactly my reasoning for the X and O 😉
      Now that I cleared that up… we are back to square one!
      As you say no matter it shows love to the ones we care about. XO

  3. I have def always considered an X a kiss, and an O a hug. 🙂 And to Freda, its not just a North American thing, its in (at least) all English speaking cultures, if not others too.

    • I looked it up and a few websites agree with my theory and others with yours 😉 (I wrote the findings in another comment below if you want to check it out). I guess it doesn’t matter which is which as long as the receiver knows it means hugs and kisses.
      Thanks for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  4. Freda Goulet

    Thanks to you both for the input…

  5. That is so sweet.. kissing, and the shadows.. 🙂

  6. Love the photo and for me, X has always been a kiss, O a hug. Who knows? Somehow everyone always includes both!@!

    • Yes true they always come together… it is just another chicken or the egg question 😉
      Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  7. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 7, 'Kiss']. « 3rdculturechildren

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Kiss? « What's (in) the picture?

  9. My husband is Turkish – If they do sign anything off with a kiss then it’s written ‘op’ short for opucuk the Turkish word for kiss. An ‘x’ is when you cross something out or mark something as wrong 🙂

    • Yes as a teacher I use X for mistakes too… hmmm another question why would the simple for kiss and wrong be the same?
      Thanks again for the visit and comment.

  10. Great image!

  11. I always thought it was the other way around, but now I’m confused. Regardless, great shot! 😉

    • I responded to this, but it is not showing I did, so I will reply again just in case.

      I am not sure either anymore, but it is fun to debate and see what people think.

      Thanks very much for stopping by 🙂

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – KISS | Beyond Beauty Tips

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Kiss | Life of 24 Hours

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Kiss « Kerry Dwyer

  15. I don’t mind – as long as there are no sound effects 😀

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Kiss “The King Who Built The Taj” « Just another wake-up call

