Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunch

I have started to take photos of food and my husband always comments that it is weird. Well lucky me I had some great shots for this week’s challenge 😉 And hey taking pictures of something that looks strange, or a work of art is a great memory frozen in time. Besides sometimes seeing is believing!

Last year I had one of those very moments. My co-teacher and her husband took me and my husband out for the day. We went to lunch in a place that was over flowing with diners. Service was fast and the noise level high which added all to the Chinese experience. We would never brave an establishment like this on our own since we speak little Chinese and how would we order… or worse what would we get??? Pointing a pictures may end up in some strange dishes and things you would rather not know they cook and serve, let alone eat.  After a brief conversation about what meats we liked they took to ordering. This is what appeared on our table.

Duck Tongue Delicacy

A real foul  delicacy 😉

We had some duck, chicken and pork. See the funny looking ‘meat’ in the front. The ‘sticky’ looking things. Try to guess what it is before reading on. It is not something I would ever think of eating, nor cooking. Give up??? Clue… it is poultry…. and a part of the animal. What did you guess? Put your guesses below in the comment section. I can’t wait to hear your suggestions. Anyway it is duck tongue! Yes duck tongue. She swears it is delicious, but I had to take her word on it. Even John who can be more adventurous, and not the same picky eater that I am, refused to try it. As they were eating the tangled mess it would be sticking out of their mouth and reminded me more of some bizarre insect with legs everywhere. I’ll stick to the chicken thank you.

Another bizarre food which is a Canadian speciality never really struck me as weird until talking about it to a fellow (American) teacher. They described it as a heart attack waiting to happen. I think it is delicious. Canada isn’t known for its cuisine. When people ask what foods is Canada  known for they come up with Canadian Bacon and Maple Syrup. someone even suggested the other day we eat maple syrup on everything! Really! I’ve known them 3 years and I don’t think I’ve eaten anything with syrup on it in front of them. Anyway the other food I am trying to share is poutine (poo-teen). It is a French Canadian dish and yes loaded with calories, but the savory and salty mix is lovely. I must admit I never tried it until a few years ago and thought WOW what I have been missing! I am not one to like gravy on my fries, so I avoided it. One day something tempted me to try it and I was hooked.

Salty Savory Poutine

Salty Savory Poutine

It has to be done right too, or it is not good. They have to be fresh cut fries and best if the skin is still on the ‘taters. Then a good beef gravy, NOT canned. Some people use shredded mozzarella cheese and that is just WRONG. It needs to be the big chunky, salty cheese curds that Quebec is known for. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

What is the strangest thing you have seen for lunch?

What food is your country known for?

To see more examples or join in the challenge go to Word Press here, or just add a comment below and stay tuned 🙂

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Photography, post a week, strange adventures, travel, unique experiences, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunch

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo (Phoneography) Challenge: Lunchtime | Pilot Fish

  2. Freda Goulet

    Diana, As I was reading about “duck tongues” it reminded me of the East Coast delicacy …Cod Tongues! I say “delicacy”, but I have never had the inclination to try them! I think each country or region have their quirky foods.

    • I remember Grandpa Leonard used to talk about Cod tongues… I am sure I was tricked into eating them on more than one occasion.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime | Flickr Comments

  4. Excellent mouth ‘waterers’! I read somewhere that some restaurants are trying to stop folks taking ‘food’ shots! If it is good & going to be shared surely they would want it advertised?!

    • Really ya think that would be good advertising! Unless they think you are going to sell or steal their ideas? I want to take photos at our grocery store with the crazy things they have (I am living in Shanghai), but that is not allowed. I have been sneaky at got a few though 😉
      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment.

  5. Pingback: Lunchtime | paul dear photography

  6. Freda Goulet

    I remember also that they used to eat cod “Cheeks”…can’t imagine what that tasted like. I’m fascinated too by “Bird’s Nest’ soup!! Lots of strange things to eat….I think I will stick to less exotic fare!

    • Along that line there are sweet breads… that sound nice until you find out it is brain!
      My pallete is not that adventerous. If it sounds yucky, or is some organ then don’t eat it!

  7. My husband is always embarrassed when I take pictures in a restaurant, which I do occasionally 🙂 The Salty Savory Poutine looks delicious.

    • It is yummy… next time in Canada keep an eye out for it. This one in the photo was at Swiss Chalet (a chain resteraunt) and pretty good. There is a pub in Brantford (name escapes me now) where I had it the first time and it was awesome!

  8. Arn’t you glad you took these yummy pictures?

  9. Pingback: Lunch | The Daily Dilly Dally

  10. I’ll take Poutine anytime. Yum!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime (2) | What's (in) the picture?

  12. I’ve taken photos of food as well. While in Disney I had to take some because the chef make ‘pictures”.

    I’ve had a few conversations with my American friends about Canadian food. It usually starts after they ask me what we eat for our traditional Thanksgiving dinner. No wonder the rest of the world doesn’t know what is “Canadian” food…our neighbours don’t even know what our traditional food is.

    A few of my favourite Canadian foods.. Butter tarts, poutine, and ‘beaver tails’ (but since it’s a pastry I’m sure other countries have something simular.)
    BTW… I giggled how the spell check is lite up for this post with the Canadian terms.

    • I happened to see the How I met your Mother “Canadian” special where they are at Tim Hortons eating donuts… and the jokes I am sure made the American’s go huh? Meanwhile we were giggling away. Someone there has a good sense of humour (with a u ;))
      Is the butter tart Canadian? Reminds me of mincemeat pie from UK… hmmm? What about Naomi Bars… are they Canadian? Someone told me they are named after this town in BC. Oh well if it tastes good and looks appealing why not eat it 😉 ?

      • Yes, butter tarts and naomi bars are Canadian. LOL my first thought when you compared butter tarts to mincemeat tarts… “Has she ate both?”

        • Yes of course and I like neither! They are a favourite of my dad’s. I always make the mistake with butter tarts for another kind of tart and when I bite in and get the raisin I always think Oh No wrong one 😉

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime | patriciaddrury

  14. paulscribbles

    Poutine looks like my kinda food. YUM YUM.

  15. La poutine I don’t like much, but le pouding chomeur…pâté chinois, la soupe aux petits pois…. I spent about four years in Quebec. Not the world’s most renown cuisine, but it has its high points – though I guess pâté chinois is really an English dish.

    I once went with a group of Chinese friends into Chinatown in New York City and they were thrilled when I ate the chicken feet. They said Americans don’t usually like it. It tastes fine; it’s just very boney and difficult to eat.

    My mother has been bothering me to go with her to teach in China.

    • It is very interesting here in China and very modern at the same time. The mix of old and new is what makes is so crazy and unique. Depending on where you go a trip to work in China would be worth it. I never had it on my list of places to travel, but I am so glad we did. We are in Shanghai and can easily get by with next to no Chinese! I wish I had a chance to learn more, but with a hectic schedule it is very difficult to take classes with such a difficult language.

  16. I haven’t seen it on a plate but have seen birds nests being collected and knowing that its made from saliva, I cant imagine why anyone would choose to eat it or how they decided to attempt it in the first place. The Chinese cuisine seems to be the most bizarre on the planet!

    • I haven’t experienced too many crazy things, but Shanghai is very Western. Lots of people have money and want the style of life we have in many ways. In smaller villages and I am sure down back streets there would be some crazy cuisine.

  17. Amar Naik

    my country is known for the spicy food. nice presentation here

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/weekly-photo-challenge-lunchtime/

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime (3) Yemen | What's (in) the picture?

  19. Pingback: Lunchtime! | Rebecca Barray

  20. Pingback: Lunchtime! | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

