Weekly Photo Challenges x2 Future & Time

Future…. Time…. this week’s themes from Word Press and Where’s My Back Pack?ย  Word Press has been encouraging us to use our phones to take photos, but my crap Chinese Fake Fone takes poor quality pics, so I am cheating and looking through my images saved on my USBs.

Word Press is looking for Future Tense… a photo that shows something about to happen… and Ailsa’s is Time. I’ve included 2 photos and my interpretation of the theme is as follows…

Vietnam…. Yes the vehicles are moving forward and going somewhere… in the near future. The country is also changing and moving forward as more industry, money and change propel it forward through time. It is a changing nation that is growing from its third world status into something new and more prosperous.

Vietnam Traffic

Vietnam Traffic

My watch… The Chinese Characters show the time… and uncertain future of what will happen tomorrow. Time passes so quickly and is something we always wish we had more of. Where we will be in the future is sometimes hard to see or know.

Time Passes so Quickly

Time Passes so Quickly

Want to see more interpretations or join the challenges then please click on the links above.

One thing for certain… there will be more next time… so stay tuned

 

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenges x2 Future & Time

  1. Wow, love the watch!

  2. Freda Goulet

    Hi Diana, I love your watch…and your thoughts on time. Time does pass quickly, and there never seems to be enough time in our fast- paced world. I have often said that I don’t know how I had time to work …I am so busy in retirement! Guess we never truly retire though, just new avenues to explore. I’m feel immense gratitude every day that I’m healthy enough to be so busy!

    • I think we are always busy and so many things take our time now like emails, blogs and facebook ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know I have lost track of time while doing these things.

      • Freda Goulet

        I agree about computer time…I decided to spend less time on my computer so I could do a lot of decluttering and cleaning. That proved to be a most satisfying decision!

        • Yes computers suck up a lot of time quickly. I can use a whole prep responding to emails. The internet is so slow here at times. I am reliant on it for skype, emails and watching shows from home… on slow days a simple task that usually takes minutes can take hours. It can be really frustrating when you have a lot to do and waste so much time waiting.

  3. Freda Goulet

    oops…should read “I feel”

  4. Three on a bike – wow!

  5. Good observations and pictures for the future and time!

  6. Cool watch ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense (Photo Course) aka “Photographers: frame and shoot – 2nd sequel (16)” | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Those bikers are the same as in Thailand. what time was that, eh?

    • Yes I see the same here in Shanghai with the bikes. I think it is similar all over Asia. This was my best shot which happened to be Vietnam.
      It was about 3:20… reads the same as a regular watch just traditional Chinese numbers.

  9. love that watch…so cute

    • Almost didn’t recognize you with your new gravatar ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks the watch says ‘Teacher’ in traditional characters.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense (Winter) | What's (in) the picture?

  11. Wow, I haven’t come across a watch like that in China. What kind of establishment did you get it in (or did you do the TaoBao shuffle)?

    • No not TaoBao. I got it at a Christmas craft show. I get a lot of comments on it… even here in China since it is pretty rare.

      Where are you in China?

      • I took off my wristwatch 16 years ago, but I’d wear one again if I found one like yours (well maybe on special occasions ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

        I’m on the outskirts of Nanjing at the mo’.

        • Nanjing is close to us here in Shanghai… I could look up the ladies email and send it to you if you like. She is in Shanghai too. I know I helped some work friends buy some watches after the craft show, but they had to pick them up at her place. She may also do deleivery, but not sure how far away she will send them.
          Mine says teacher, but there is hope, love… and a quite a few others.
          What do you do in Nanjing?

          • That would be excellent if you still have her email. Cheers!

            NJ – Well, I was teaching at a college here. I fractured my ankle in the line of duty a few months ago, and I have been fired as a result. I’m still in the on-campus housing while I try to get back on my feet – literally. Once I’m functional, I’m going to head out – I’m rather underwhelmed by the poor treatment here.

            How about yourself?

            • I have been teaching here too. I did a 2 year contract and signed for 2 more. With bad pollution this year I have decided to finish and then go home. It is giving me nosebleeds and I have had bad sinus colds and lost my voice all probably due to the pollution. It wasn’t that bad the last 2 years and it seems someone switched it on since it changed almost over night.
              We had someone get very ill at work and I was surprised they treated them very well and helped them as much as they could. I really didn’t expect it. I am at an international school. The work load is crazy though and this year insane!

              • Teaching is stressful on one’s health to begin with. Fighting pollution as well is tough on the system. Your body will probably thank you for cutting out.

                Wow, I’m surprised the work load is so heavy at an international school.

                Myself, this is my third time over here. I’ve gotten badly sick or injured every time I come over here, so I think this will be my last round. Whenever I go home, my body goes through this really intense detox-like experience. Anyhow, I had planned this current stay to last 2 years (I’m 6 months into it) while I work on my next step, and I’m going to try to stick to that ๐Ÿ™‚

                • Wow maybe your body is telling you something… China is not for you ๐Ÿ˜‰
                  Yes it has been tough… 1 more year though. I have been going home twice a year, but next year we may stay straight through to get in all the last bits of travel. Take advantage of things while we can. This year we didn’t get to do that. My husband had to go home and he was there 4 months… so I went home twice.

                  • Haha, that’s what I’m thinking – the body always knows.

                    Given your back and forthing to Canada, have you been able to see much of China?

                    Thanks for the email for the watch lady, btw!

                    • You are welcome.
                      We have been here 3 years and not seen as much as we would have liked. Big family issues at home, so we wanted to go and be there for them. We did do Xian and this weekend Beijing! Further afield we have done the Hong Kong, Philippeans, and Vietnam. When we went home last summer we did a relaxing holiday in Cuba ๐Ÿ˜‰

                    • That sounds pretty good. It’s nice to be able to escape once in a while. I’ve lived in a handful of places in China, but I haven’t travelled too much within the country.

                    • Always god to get away… We are true travel bugs ๐Ÿ˜‰

                • Oh yea here is that email for the lady with the watches. Tell her a teacher from Shanghai sent you ๐Ÿ™‚ I bought from her 2 years ago… and sent a few her way.
                  nancypon@gmail.com

  12. A super wrap up of two challenges all in one bow. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Pingback: 3-23-13 [Travel Theme: Time #2] {Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense} | The Quotidian Hudson

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense | Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  15. Pingback: 3-24-13(Really 3-23-13) {Travel Theme: Time #2} [Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense] | The Quotidian Hudson

  16. You nailed it with the watch!

  17. Pingback: Future Tense | Rebecca Barray

  18. Pingback: Wedding Planning | New Directions

