Hell of a Hike : Beijing Streets

This weekend I have run out of time to post more on Beijing. I don’t want to rush it, so I will leave it for next weekend when I have more time. To hold you over let me post a few pictures I snapped as we walked around the streets of Beijing.

Typical Red Doors with Lion Door Knockers

Typical Red Doors with Lion Door Knockers

IMG_2221

Small neigbourhoods tucked behind the ornate doors.

Small neighbourhoods tucked behind big ornate doors.

I am fascinated by these doors… the door knockers and decoration always catch my eye. I was lucky enough to see this one open and sneak a peek inside another world to a whole neighbourhood. All this time I thought it was an entrance to a house, or larger building of some importance, but never did it cross my mind a whole neighbourhood could be tucked behind these closed doors.

Stay tuned for more…

Be sure to check out my 3 previous posts on Beijing …Tian’anmen Square, The Great Wall and the Forbidden City. From this weekend you can also check out my Photo Challenges on Contrast and Up.

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Culture, Photography, post a week, travel | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Hell of a Hike : Beijing Streets

  1. Leslie

    I’m feeling very philosophical today.. The expression “when one door closes another one opens” comes to mind in your post. When happens ..what is behind the new door, the one that is now opening is full of surprises, of things you never imagined. Don’t be sad that one door is closing, be happy that it happened. (Dr. Seuss) Then welcome what is behind the new door….be fascinated with the doorway…enjoy the “unimagined” behind the now open door!

    • I wish I could have explored that little street, but I think they are private and not meant for others unless you live there. We would have really stood out!
      Beijing was a mix of emotions for me; funny you bring this up. It was the one ‘must see’ when we came here and finally doing it and knowing we will leave next year is a little sad as this chapter closes and we are not sure what will be next.

  2. It’s a pity you couldn’t go inside to wander around 🙂

    • I had to take a quick pic since there were a lot of police in the area (close to the Forbidden City/Tian’anmen Sq and a national holiday to honour the dead was days away). I don’t think we would have gotten in there undetected! 😉

  3. Johnny

    Cool pic’s!

  4. vastlycurious.com

    Wonderful red door! I am looking forward to more and trying to catch up !

    • I love the doors so bright and inviting. The door knockers and the lions that sit “watch” are so interesting I couldn’t resist just posting on those!
      Thanks for reading 🙂

      • vastlycurious.com

        They were wonderful! More Beijing please!

        • I hope to get to the Temple of Heaven post this weekend. Hopefully I don’t run out of weekend before I have time like last week! I should go through all my pics and see what other interesting shots I have and do a post of favourites.
          Thanks for the encouragement and reading!

  5. Amazing. Are they all red?

    • Most doors (on older style buildings) are red with the gold knocker looking handles. The Emperor’s palace is also that red, and I know red is an important colour for the Chinese. I did see 1 blue door though… I should find out why!
      Thanks for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  6. Pingback: Hell of a Hike: Beijing – Temple of Heaven | Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

