CBBH Photo Challenge: KNOBS AND KNOCKERS

Today is a public holiday, Labour Day (May 1), here in China and we are off school. I was catching up on reading some blogs and came across Marianne’s blog (East of Malaga) that I often read and follow. She posted a challenge on Knobs and Knockers. I am fascinated by ornate and colourful doors, but especially since I saw and photographed this door from a church in Havana, Cuba in 2008.

Havana Cuba, 2008

Havana Cuba, 2008

Here in China many doors on older style and traditional buildings are bright red with gold or brass lion head handles. Here is a collection from our recent trip to Beijing.

Each door seems to tell a story with its worn handles, dirt and faded crackle paint. I think that is what makes each unique and interesting to photograph.

Check out Marianne’s blog to see her beautiful examples and photography from Europe.

As always stay tuned…

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Culture, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “CBBH Photo Challenge: KNOBS AND KNOCKERS

  1. Gorgeous selection, Diana – you have captured them beautifully! And, don’t the red doors look wonderful with the brass furniture attached? I love the church door in Havana and another favourite of mine is the one of the door knobs on the red door in the Forbidden City (top right of your gallery).

    • Thanks Marianne… they are all beautiful doors. I had so many photos… each knocker or handle was a little different than the next, so I couldn’t resist taking them.
      I like how you took yours at different angles – made them more interesting. I think next time I will give it a try 😉 Thanks again for the inspiration.

      • I think that really IS part of the inspiration of Photo Challenges – seeing how other people have photographed things and then trying new ideas out for yourself. I have learned LOADS through looking at the photos of others 🙂

        • Yes very true… it is great too how you can ask people about things too… not like looking at a magaizine, or regular web site. After talking to a fellow blogger about her camera and with her recommendation I bought one.. the interaction is even better 🙂

  2. Freda Goulet

    Some of the older door knobs certainly made doors more interesting than the mass produced metal knobs that we see today. We have one beautiful crystal door knob on a closet door in our bedroom. It must be 120 years old if not older. I love the warm smoothness of this door knob every time I open that door. Why is the color red so significant in Chinese culture?

    • I think it is for luck… many important buildings have red (the Forbidden City for 1) and then you have red envolopes and decorations for Chinese New Year. Weddings the bride would tradionally wear red, but now more are doing the western white. I’ll have to find out.

      • Freda Goulet

        Thanks…I think you are correct . I think I remember reading once that red is considered a lucky color for Chinese .

        • I looked it up on Wiki Answers and About.com. The tradition of red is from fire… fire is red and warm. It can drive away bad luck and Nian (part of Chinese New Year legends) is afraid of red. According to ehow it can also mean luck, happiness, loyalty or honour.
          Colour and its importance is also part of Feng Shui… think ying and yang.

  3. Yes they are fabulous,door trimmings are fascinating!

  4. These old door knobs are telling stories! Great post.

    • Thanks… I had posted a few doors after the trip from Beijing, but Marianne had a photo theme of Knobs & Knockers and I was inspired to post again 🙂

    • Thanks… I had posted a few doors after the trip from Beijing, but Marianne had a photo theme of Knobs & Knockers and I was inspired to post again 🙂

  5. vastlycurious.com

    Thanks for sharing. She has a fantastic Blog!

  6. Pingback: Doors and Passages: Pixelventures Photo Challenge | Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

