Travel Theme: Dancing

Ailsa over at where’s my backpack has asked us to post some photos on dancing. I immediately thought about Cuba. The passion and love for dance is a cultural thing which is awesome to witness and join in on. My best memory was when we went to Cuba and during dinner the band struck up some music and suddenly the staff walked away from their duties and started to dance. It quickly became a dance party (after the shock of some dinners) with most tourists and the staff laughing, cheering and dancing all together. As quickly as it all started they returned to work. I don’t have any photos of this fun phenomenon, but here are a few others from Cuba.

Cuba -Day show put on by the resort staff.

Cuba -Day show put on by the resort staff.

DSC04057

Tropicana – Havana, Cuba

What better example of Cuban dance and love of music than the infamous Tropicana in Havana?

Don’t forget to check out Ailsa’s page to see more examples or take part in the challenges. Everyone is welcome 🙂

Stay tuned…. next week there will be more.

 

Categories: Culture, Photography, post a week, travel, unique experiences, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Dancing

  1. Freda Goulet

    I think it is instinctive for most people to react to the music of their culture. I went to a concert of Cape Breton fiddlers on Friday evening and I could not keep my feet still. I know your dad would have been the same! Music is the universal language, for all ages! Music is an important component of all occasions …in any culture. Great post!

    • Yes true… and to add to that I think the music of our youth also plays into that. I prefer music of my teen years/20’s more than music of today or my parents generation 😉
      Music brings back memories… when I did my Europe tour everyday we started with a song… and to this day when I happen to hear it it reminds me of that trip, or I hear a Cuban rythym I think Cuba…

  2. I love that the staff walked away to dance. Maybe more people should dance! 🙂 Might make for a better world.

  3. would like to see your Chinese warriors in your header start dancing!

  4. Great post – so much excitement in the photos!

  5. Pingback: Dance as an expression | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

