Travel Theme: Pathways

Pathways you never know where they will lead to and that is half the fun as they wind, turn and lead through narrow passage ways where you can’t quite see what is on the other side.

Ancient Roman Via

Ancient Roman Via

In Ostia, the Ancient Roman City, paths over grown with weeds twist and turn through ancient streets. What was once a busy crowded road filled with the hustle and bustle of a big city now lays quiet and only hosts an interesting trek for tourists to explore the well-preserved ruins of a former fabulous port.

Fall Path

Fall Path

Fall is very different here in Shanghai with its more temperate climate. Rarely do leaves fall and when they do they are crispy brown dead leaves without the vibrant fall splendor we are used to back home. This year we had ideal conditions and in December some trees in our apartment complex changed to a mellow yellow and littered the winding path that snakes its way through our complex. The path is a relaxing escape in a busy city and runs parallel to the higher trafficked walkway, but with the tall trees and plants you can imagine you are far away from the city in a forest.

The biggest path we all take is life. What is next? Around each corner something new awaits.ย  My path is leading to destinations unknown as our final year in Shanghai will begin after a much-needed summer vacation. Lots of changes ahead, unknown challenges and adventures…

DO you follow the main path or make your own? Comment on it below or add your own post. Find out more details how to do that at Ailsa’s blog Where’s My Backpack.

Stay tuned…

 

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Pathways

  1. Freda Goulet

    I love your last comment about “life’s path”…it sure does twist and turn with a few bumps along the way, but the adventures along the way make it all worthwhile. Whatever future path you choose will be full of adventures that you will handle in your unique, confident way.

  2. Johnny

    I love your pictures!

  3. Loved the read and the photos…and as to your question…MU! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sorry I couldn’t resist…I just take the path as it comes along and when it gets rocky look for green patches.

      • Good plan…get off the path that is too hard and find one that makes life better ๐Ÿ™‚ That reminds me of the poem about “may the path always rise to your feet and the sun always shinning on you…” or something like that.
        Thanks for commenting!

  4. Your photos are relaxing. Your words have me wanting to hear more. I hope your next adventure is fun and exciting. Do you know where you’ll be going? I think I do a little of both, make my own path and wait to see what life brings. I should do more of the first. Get a little control, you know, ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Now we are not sure where we will be… home first and see where that takes us. I have been away from home for 3 years and that will make 4… so maybe time to reconnect a little before another adventure? Or maybe the dream job will be waiting and we’ll put down roots.It’s all part of the adventure ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. nice capture … ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, but not as nice as yours! Your colours are so rich and your photos amazing! Thanks for finding me so I could find you ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I think autumn leaves on paths are lovely wherever they are. Great photos ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks… autum is my favourite time of year. I miss the colours here… but this year very briefly they appeared! The street sweepers are so effective and always sweeping I am glad they left this path to its natural beauty.

