Curves: Weekly Photo Challenge #2

I had another idea for Curves to fit this week’s photo challenge set by Word Press. Check my last post  here and see the examples of Curves in China. These examples are from Canada 🙂

IMG_0085How about curves on a Merry-Go-Round? This old-fashioned Merry-Go-Round is in Port Dalhousie, Ontario and is still only 5 cents a ride!

IMG_0254If you like to take rides why not the giant ferris wheel perched on top of Clifton Hill in Niagara Falls? It isn’t as big as the London Eye, but the view is second to none.

Stay Tuned….

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Curves: Weekly Photo Challenge #2

  1. I think it’s brilliant that the merry go round is just 5 cents, lovely photos!

    • I know it is a great idea to keep it at the old fashioned prices. I wonder what will happen to the Merry-Go-Round since the old fashioned candy shops, ice cream parlours and souviener places are all shut down and becoming an upscale condo development. Takes away from the charm of the place. It made me so sad to see the changes when I was home last summer. Wonder what it will be this summer? Some times change is good and sometimes traditions get lost with the quest to be new.

  2. Great choice for the challenge.. 🙂 Happy Sunday.. !!

  3. I knew that merry-go-round the moment I saw it in my ‘reader’ on WP. I’ve benn on it many, many times as a child and teen. I spent most of my teenage years in Port Dalhousie. I’ve also done the ferris wheel on Clifton Hill a ton of times, you’re correct … the view is amazing! Thanks for the wonderful memories of home. 🙂

    • Yes memories of home… can you tell I am excited about heading back in a few weeks?
      Port Dalhousie is really changing and new fancy condos are replacing all the pubs, shops and restaurants.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Great Sunday choice! Love ferris wheels and merry-go-rounds!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Saint Rémy-de-Provence | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Shibam | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Freda Goulet

    Good choices, Diana. I loved the giant ferris wheel until we were stopped at the top while the bottom chair was being loaded!!

    • I didn’t mind that so much in the closed ferris wheel, but the old ones at the fair that rock and move make me nervous when we stop at the top.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Avignon | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Al-Janad Mosque | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Curves | Denis Danze Photographe Freelance

  11. ausurfer

    Great photo choices. I love that the price of the older one is so cheap.
    Seems those big Ferris wheels are popping up all over the world. We have one here in Brisbane (Australia) where I live. It gives fantastic views of the city and the river.
    All the best!

