Don’t rain on my parade

After returning home I got to be apart of a parade! The day started out cool and cloudy as the skies threatened rain. It held off, the wind died down and it felt warmer for the length of the parade.

John is a part of the Masons and Shrine club and he was invited to drive a mini car dressed as a clown. The group we joined was Port Colbourne Welland District Shrine Club. He participated in a few local parades recently. This one was in Cambridge, about an hour from home, for Canada day. It was Canada’s birthday and some communities celebrate with fairs, parades or fireworks. This was the first parade I ever went to for Canada day.

everyone loves a clown

everyone loves a clown

People lined the streets waving flags and wearing red and white. Some people even donned silly hats, temporary tattoos with maple leaves and funky glasses. As we drove along people shouted out “Happy Canada Day”.

I was able to join in and ride on the caboose and beep the loud fog horn every few minutes. I could have driven one of the mini cars, but worried about controlling the crazy little contraptions. Instead I had a great view and was able to soak it all in.

my point of view

my point of view

What a welcome home….

What did you do for Canada day? If you are not Canadian then what does your country do to celebrate its birthday?

Canada's traditional uniform of the Royal Mounted Police

Canada’s traditional uniform of the Royal Mounted Police

Stay tuned I still want to do this week’s photo challenges.

Categories: post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, travel, Uncategorized, unique experiences | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Don’t rain on my parade

  1. I just love that it’s still July 3rd when I am reading this at 2:28 pm. I am glad that the weather held off for your parade. We are hoping it will hold off for the fireworks tonight!

  2. What fun! Nice to see the Mounties all dressed up too!

