You Scream I Scream…

…we all scream for gelato ??? Doesn’t have the same ring does it? If you have ever traveled to Europe you will know that gelato is WAY better than ice cream. It is cool, refreshing and it usually comes in tangy fruit flavours. I have been drooling lately as a few bloggers have mentioned eating gelato in Europe. I am so jealous… until I found my own little shop within walking distance!

Living in Canada can be just as good as travelling the world at times since so many different nationalities make up our country. Within a short block radius you can often find a variety of cuisines stretching from Greek, Italian, Chinese and Vietnamese. Head to larger cities and your variety and choices increase exponentially.  Toronto even hosts many little towns within its metropolis with Little Italy, Greek Town and China Town to name just a few.

Smaller towns sometimes surprise you with little hidden gems. Since returning to Canada for the summer we are staying at my brother’s. I went out walking to explore and happened upon a little gelato place. The next night we returned money in hand to try out the yummy treat. The place was quiet and looked new, but the near empty tubs showed business had been good. It was tastefully decorated and a large display case housed a variety of (16) flavours. The hardest part was which one to try first? Prices on the wall indicated small, medium and large and regular or premium. Two small cups set us back nearly $7 (must have had the premium 😉 ), but were worth it for the homemade natural goodness.

DSC04197

I tried raspberry and John mango, both delicious and very fruity. According to their Facebook page there are different flavours that we didn’t see, so they must mix things up on occasion. Looking through the Facebook page again I see that they have 237 different flavours to tantalize the pallet. Yum! Flavours include hazelnut, coconut, banana, pistachio and a variety of chocolate kinds. That will keep us coming back for more; definitely a place we will see again. If you are in Fonthill be sure to keep an eye out for Gelato Village. What flavour do you want to try?

DSC04199

What is your favourite summer treat?

Stay tuned… lots to write about and time to do it 😉

ps thanks Jo for asking what the difference between ice cream and gelato was… after looking it up on a few websites I found that gelato has less fat 3-5% less than ice cream. Additionally it is whipped less, so not as hard, or as much air as ice cream. Plus it is served warmer than ice cream. All these coat the mouth differently and gives it a different flavour. Another note I found gelato was used to cleanse the pallet between courses. Interesting… learn some thing new everyday. 😉

Categories: post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, travel | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “You Scream I Scream…

  1. Ooo in Sicily the gelato was heavenly, the only problem was the decision!

  2. Gelato is one of my favorite treats and your flavors look delicious! It’s so hard to decide… 🙂

    • I love LOVE love chocolate, but the cool tangy fruit on a hot day is the best… Maybe next time I will ask for 2 flavours in 1 cup. 😉

  3. A friend gave me a great recipe for ice cream lately…homemade is sooo much better than commercial
    so what is the difference between ice cream and gelato ?

    • As far as I know ice cream is made with cream and I think gelato is made more with juices…. But that doesn’t explain chocolate flavours. All I know it is really yummy.

    • Ok I had to look it up… Gelato has less fat 3-5% less than ice cream, it whipped less, so not as hard or as much air as ice cream and it is served warmer than ice cream which is to coat the mouth differently and giving a different flavour. Another note I found gelato was used to cleanse the pallet between courses. Interesting… Thanks for asking.

  4. That looks delish! While quite possibly the flavor could be comparable, the price seems quite a bit higher than getting it in Italy. But then again, you don’t have to pay $1000+ for the airfare!

  5. My favourite summer treat is gelati for sure but very close second is the freshly squeezed, home made lemonade!

    • Yes that is another good one for a hot day. We tried some with lavender the other day at the local farmers market… Yum!
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  6. I’d cleanse my pallet with that stuff any day! MANGO!
    🙂

    • It is so yummy… and yes the mango is awesome! Last night we went again and each of us tried 2 flavours in 1 cup. Between us we had 5 to try… Tiramsu was terrific, banana beautiful, coconut cool, oreo was OK and the raspberry ravishing, so I had to have again and my husband too 🙂

  7. I’m glad we met today. Your work makes me smile and that is priceless. Thank you.

    • Thanks… We have been living in china for the past 3 years and I try to see the funny in things to keep me sane. So many challenges at times…. When something bad, unusual and challenging happens we try to think that will make a good blog! Now that I have more international followers I want to show some of the local things that make up Niagara and what makes it great.
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  8. Freda Goulet

    I must stop there for a raspberry gelato next time I’m passing through Fonthill. It sounds heavenly!!

    • It is awesome. Thursdays there is a farmers market and small concert in the park. It is a fun night out. You should stop by and we can check it out.

  9. Freda Goulet

    Thanks…I will try to find time to come by!

