Golden Hour & Simple: Weekly Photo Challenges

I set out to take some Golden Hour Photos as I wrangled with ideas of something to post on the theme simple and as I reviewed this fresh snaps I thought these covered both themes in one.

Golden Hour is the hour after sunrise and the hour before sunset. Colours pop because the light and shadow is perfect.

Simple… could be so many things. First thing that comes to mind is ‘keep it simple stupid‘ and I think that can apply to photography too. As I participate in these photo challenges, learn and grow as a photographer I think simple does make the best shots. 🙂

IMG_3502

simple dandelions in the golden hour

Golden Hour Wheat in Sepia

Golden Hour Wheat in Sepia

Both taken with Canon Power Shot SX40 HS

Check out WordPress for the Golden Hour shots and Where’s My Backpack for Simple. Everyone can join in, or just check it out for more responses.

Heading off to Ottawa Wednesday so stay tuned for more Canadian Adventures!

Categories: Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, Uncategorized, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Golden Hour & Simple: Weekly Photo Challenges

  1. WOW!

  2. Those dandelions are pure gold! Growing as a photographer, indeed! 🙂

  3. Excellent shots, well captured 🙂

  4. Wow.
    These are amazing photos. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks… The newer camera allows a wider variety of options. I originally meant to get photos of a barn, but the colours weren’t as good as a previous day. I started to look for other options and experimented a bit. When I spotted the birds I thought that would make things more interesting.

  5. Freda Goulet

    Your dandelion photo is amazing…deserves an award!! I think you could start a whole new career…photography!! Love the bird photo too.

    • Thanks. I really enjoy taking photos and now I have the time to explore the new camera and try it out. It would be a dream job to be a photographer 🙂

  6. love these and you are right…simple is always best I think

    • Thanks. My new favorite pics always seem to zoom in tight. I just got back from Ottawa and caught myself doing the same thing… Zooming into the small and simple details. Can’t wait to review the pics and post some. Will do that later this week.

  7. A golden hour where time seemed to have frozen. Magical!

    • Thank you. This is one of the pictures I am most proud of. I went to take a photo of the old barn, but found nature even more interesting. The birds hiding in the tall wheat were a nice surprise and I lucked out to capture this one just as he was about to land.
      Thanks again for the visit. Good to ‘see’ you as always.

