FRESH Montreal Bagels: Weekly Photo Challenge

This week’s theme is FRESH. I am really enjoying the FRESH air after a bad few months in Shanghai dealing with higher than normal pollution levels. Little hard to take photos of air 😉 After heading to Ottawa for a conference I had lots of photos to look through. I was able to explore the city for a few hours and snap pics of the Parliament buildings. As I scanned the 538 pics I came across my Saturday morning photos when we walked through the Byward Market and discovered Montreal Style Bagels. These style are by far the best I have ever had. They are not as heavy and bready as most bagels and before cooking they are dipped in a honey water bath that makes them ever so sweet. If it is authentic place they aim to cook them in a wood fired oven which, gives them a better taste, or so it seems. Each of these were made by hand early that morning as I watched and waited for my bagel to be prepared. A little bit of butter is all that is needed so you can enjoy the flavours and they are not masked by anything else. For $1.75 I enjoyed a buttered bagel toasted and fresh out of the oven.

Bagels in the wood fired oven

Bagels in the wood fired oven

What smells better than FRESH baked bread?

IMG_3810

This part of the market smelled so delicious. They were so yummy I went back and bought half a dozen to take home (only $5).

Head over to Word Press to see more examples of Fresh or post your own.

Stay tuned… working on posting on another photo challenge and more about Ottawa.

Categories: post a week, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “FRESH Montreal Bagels: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Son of a gun. The things you learn from visitors to your city! Byward Market here I come.

    • Are you in Ottawa? I first had bagels in Montreal years ago and learned why they were so yummy. I discovered there are some made with the same traditions in Toronto and Ottawa, so I am always on the look out. 😉 YUM! I can look up the name of the place, but I think it was Continental Bagels. They are worth the trip 🙂

  2. I love Montreal and I love bagels! Great post.

  3. Freda Goulet

    Yummy! I love bagels with herbed cream cheese, but the gluten free bagels aren’t as good! I don’t eat many bagels now.

  4. Yum – had some for brekkie this morning! You’ll have to get to Montreal one day and get the real thing – eat ’em while they are hot still in the store…

    • Yes I had some in a little family bakery in Montreal and another time at the famous Dunns. They are great… the ones I had in Toronto and Ottawa are just as good, or a pretty close second.
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  5. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Fresh | blogagaini

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh (Hosta) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Nothing smells better than FRESH baked bread! Beautiful bread photos 🙂

  8. I even love the pre packed bagels we get over here so these must be divine!

  9. The price is definitely right! I love, Love! LOVE bagels and these look great ( I typed ‘to die for’ and then I looked above my typing and saw that you had already expressed that sentiment! ) but I’ll bet they’re that good!

    • Yup they sure are. We get them in Toronto at St Lawrence Market and they are good…. These were super yummy too. Best I think we’re the little bakery we came across once in Montreal. As I said they are perfect just toasted with butter. My husband has even eaten them plain soon as we bought them. The honey water makes them salty and sweet… My mouth is watering just thinking about them now!
      You always said you wanted to come to the Great White North… Here is another reason you should!

  10. that looks quite tempting, yes how can I do a cyber sample?

    • I wish I knew how… They are delicious. Well my best option is to invite you to Canada and you will have to sample for yourself in person 🙂
      Thanks for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  11. Wow, the bagel looks delicious!

  12. Lavendar

    Yumm.. I far prefer “brown” bread but fresh hot any bread smells like a little bit of heaven.

    • You can get them in whole wheat…. just happened the fresh ones were white. Warm and fresh from the oven trumped my choice 🙂

  13. The photos made me hungry 🙂

    • Me too… I brought some home and we couldn’t wait to devour them. Have you ever had them?
      Thanks for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  14. Pingback: Food & Sweet: Photo Challenges | Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

  15. A perfect treat.

