TOYS: Weekly Photo Challenge

Another photo challenge… this theme is TOYS set by We Drink Because We Are Poets.

This weekend I snapped a few Canadian icons at the Mountie Shop in Ottawa right across from the Parliament Buildings. The Royal Mounted Police are  a Canadian icon in their own right, so what is cuter than Canadian Bears and Beavers in RCMP gear?

Our bedroom in China has a few toys and comforts from our childhood to help make it feel like home. Soft toys were easy and light to pack. The blue dolly was my favourite and she went everywhere with me as a child, so she HAD to make the trip to China 😉

Comforts of home

Comforts of home

Want to see more and take a trip down memory lane? Head over here. What was your favourite game or toy growing up? Be sure to tell me in the comment section below.

Stay tuned…. I’ll post on Ottawa later this week.

Categories: post a week, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “TOYS: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Freda Goulet

    I seem to remember you carrying that Blue Dolly around!! My favorite toy was a wooden doll that my uncle made for me…It was detailed, and I had it for years. Not sure what happened to it…probably got passed down to a younger sister. Josh had Brown Dog that he got for his first Christmas from Aunt Linda (he was three months old) . That brown dog went everywhere with him, even on a cruise last February. Josh is now almost twelve!!

    • Sometimes you just need the comforts of home no matter how old or where you are 😉
      That would be great to see a photo of your fav toy. Yes Sissy was always close by until I was maybe 10? When I was younger she never left my side.

  2. Those are really cute toys! It’s nice to have a favorite to bring with you to keep from getting too homesick… 🙂

  3. That doll is the cutest thing! I don’t blame you for hanging on to her and taking her along. I am ‘old’ and I still buy and am gifted toys! Forever young. 😉

    • Me too! I have some cute Canadian toys for my classroom and I still carry my little Canadian Beaver that hangs on my back pack. He has travelled the world with me for almost 20 years. That dolly had to be restuffed and covered… She was well loved. She wasn’t a typical toy, but for some reason she was my favourite.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Wow! Thanks for all these lovely toys! Loved the toys on the bed! And the Mounted Police teddy bears…

    • Thanks. I couldn’t find the one I wanted with me snuggling with my doll, but this was the best I could do since my portable hard drive is in China.
      Glad you liked it.

  5. Pingback: Photo Finish! Toys | We Drink Because We're Poets

  6. Love your little baby doll 🙂

  7. Adorable toys!

