Food & Sweet: Photo Challenges

Whenever possible I try to combine photo challenges to save time when busy with work, or in the summer to get outside and enjoy the blue sky and sunshine. Also the ‘are you done yet?’ from John hurries me along. πŸ˜‰ This week what was a more fitting combination than We Drink because we are Poets theme FOOD and SWEET from Where’s my Backpack? I know I should post on some crazy treats from China, but after a visit to Ottawa last week for a conference I came across a favourite Canadian treat that I should share. I posted last week on the Montreal Bagels I had while there and they also fit the theme, so if you missed it check it out here.

Beaver Tails, or Queues de Castor in French, sounds gross if you think of the furry little dam building creatures, but I assure you no beavers were harmed in their making πŸ˜‰ I never heard of these pasties until my first trip to Ottawa about 10 years ago. The friends I went with had, so they were on a mission to find the pastry stand and buy a few. I must live a sheltered life and missed out in this sweet sticky fried mess for so many years of my life. It seems the popularity is still going strong as the little stand in the Byward market had a steady stream of customers day and night. With the changing times a wider selection of toppings seems to be available from what I remembered.

The small stand in the Byward Market

The small stand in the Byward Market

So what is a Beaver Tail? Well it is dough pulled into a long oval shape to resemble… you guessed it… a beaver’s tail. It is then quickly deep fried, so they are always fresh. After picking your flavour they slop on a generous topping of cinnamon sugar, hazelnut spread, or maple butter to name a few sweet flavours. It you prefer a more savory there is garlic butter with cheese. Β Balancing the sweet sticky hot goodness, which is about as long as my forearm, I take a delicious bite. It kind of tastes like a doughnut, but not as puffy in thickness.

Beaver Tails originated in Canada and have been around since 1978. I also learned they are in 3 different countries and of course all across Canada. Who knew there is even one tucked away in Niagara Falls just off the main tourist trap street, Clifton Hill. If you want to learn more check out Wikipedia for a short description.

What kind would you like to try?

What kind would you like to try?

How did they taste… delicious. I had the maple butter (hey what could be more Canadian?) and my friend had cheese cake with Skor candy bar. Luckily we had lots of napkins because when we were done our hands and faces resembled a small 3-year-old who dove in face first to a birthday cake. We tried our best to eat them carefully, but the size and amount of toppings that melt from a combination of the heat outside and them fresh out of the deep fryer made the task of staying clean and lady like almost impossible.

What flavour would you like to try?

Stay tuned…

Categories: Tourist in My Own Town, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Food & Sweet: Photo Challenges

  1. I’ve a whole new perspective on beaver tails now…fantastic place and how original they look marvelous! Thanks for this great contribution!

    • Thanks… They were yummy and I am sure loaded with calories. I will have to find the one in Niagara Flls before heading back to China.

  2. Freda Goulet

    Regretfully, I’ll have to pass until someone comes up with a gluten free beaver’s tail! They look so yummy.

    • Well it is more common to find such things now. Tim Hortons has a gluten free snack and the farmers market we went to Saturday had a lot of gluten free products, so hopefully beaver tails are next?

  3. How can I resist? I love sweets and these pastries looks so yummy!

  4. Lavendar

    Oh oh you shouldn’t have told me that! Beaver Tails have long been our treat when we visit the Toronto Zoo. … That reminds me I have to visit soon to see the Pandas !

    • πŸ™‚ I never knew they were in the falls tucked away on Clifton Hill either! I may have to check it out for one last sinful treat before heading back to China πŸ˜‰

  5. Looks totally yummy. Hope to try it some day! And I absolutely live the sign board πŸ™‚

    • They are yummy and so many choices! bet you can’t have just one πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚ nice to meet you.

  6. Pingback: Pixelventure’s Photo Finish! 31 July 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  7. Pingback: Sweet Dust Tree | Shainbird

