Comfort Maple: Tourist in My Own Town

As my time home winds down I wanted to post on The Comfort Maple which is thought to be the oldest living tree in Canada. It is believed this tree is about 530 years old! She is a sugar maple, which is famous for the sticky sweet ย sap used to make maple syrup.

Last year you may remember my post on the shoe tree in Niagara and my Aunt suggested writing about the Comfort Maple. I had hoped to post about her for the photo challenge old set by ‘We Drink Because We are Poets’, but didn’t have a chance to get out there until after I posted. A few weeks ago we went in search of this tree and snapped a few photos.

The Comfort Maple is located in Pelham, Ontario. Not far from Fonthill and St. Catharines. Located off Highway 20, a main road that crossed the top of the Niagaraย Escarpment.

We drove down a small country road and then came to a sign pointing us to the tree. We went down a little side road and came to a large grassy area with the lone tree in the centre. Surrounding the tree is farmers fields. It is peaceful, quiet with only the sound of birds singing merrily in the background. A few benches allow you to sit and drink it all in, how soothing .

The Comfort Maple

The Comfort Maple

Let me tell you she is big! I tried to wrap my arms around her and as you could see I wasn’t successful. I was surprised to see some areas have been bricked up and wires holding her together. Age and time is taking their toll, but someone has decided to hold her together, so we may enjoy her and her great history a little longer.

Tree Hugger

Tree Huger

Up close and sparkling personality

Up close and sparkling personality

This is part of Tourist in My Own Town. If you wish to share something unique and old about where you live tell us about it in the comment box below, or even better add the link so we can check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay tuned…

Categories: Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Comfort Maple: Tourist in My Own Town

  1. My home and native land! Great shots – I never knew about this beautiful tree. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I didn’t either until my aunt mentioned it last year. I ran out of time to find it last year, but this summer it was on the ‘to-do-list”. We stayed at my brothers only a hop-skip and a jump away from it ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oh PS the old shoe tree had to be cut down, but they have started a new one along highway 20 again!

  2. It must have been fun to see this tree as though you were a tourist – great idea for a series!

  3. What a majestic tree! Love the last shot. Cool idea of Tourist in My Own Town ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Imagine using bricks to patch up a hole in a tree!

  5. You captured the sun! Magical photo and loved the tone!

  6. Love that third photo fantastic…thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ just caught the light right… Always about the lighting ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • yes, lighting is important…though even in this I sometimes feel a bit iconoclastic and shoot against the sun…just to see what happens ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    A late entry for Pixelventures theme, Old, thanks Canadiantravelbugs!

  8. Wonderful, 530 years old what things she must have seen and heard!

  9. Another historical tree was in the news recently http://news.nationalpost.com/2013/07/20/tree-said-to-have-inspired-song-the-maple-leaf-forever-falls-victim-to-toronto-storm/ Sadly the story isn’t as happy as this one.
    We often spend too much time on preserving the man made ‘stuff’ vs nature. I’m glad that you took the time to blog about our tree!

    • Thanks… Each time I come home I see lots of change. Sometimes it is for the best, but sometimes preservation and history should mean something too…

  10. Lovely post, fellow tree hugger. xxx

  11. Freda Goulet

    I’m so glad that you went to see the Comfort maple…this tree makes me realize what a very short time I have been here…I love your photos of the tree.

  12. Thanks for the incredible pic. I’m a big tree fan and am moving to Canada for a few months in September. Also… love the idea of finding what’s awe inspiring in our own locality. Here’s a link to our posts from our homeplace in the west of Ireland. Warmest Wishes… Martin & Olga http://worldwidewanderers.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/sunrise-in-mayo-winter-solstice-2009/

