Architecture: Weekly Travel Theme

In University my elective was ancient art and architecture where we studied Roman civilizations. I love ancient history and architecture. The interesting and unique details on each building draws you in. North America doesn’t compare with less history. However, the newer buildings in North America with their sharp lines and glass also offer unique perspectives as they reflect passing traffic, other buildings or the sky. Being home for summer vacation I captured these shots in Toronto, Ontario.

Part of the Toronto skyline... old, new and the CN Tower, which was once the tallest free standing stucture in the world.

Part of the Toronto skyline… old, new and the CN Tower, which was once the tallest free standing structure in the world.

 

 

Interesting design of glass and shape reflects nearby buildings.

Interesting design of glass and shape reflects nearby buildings.

This is my response to the Travel Theme Photo Challenge set over at Where’s My Backpack. If you want to participate or see more excellent examples be sure to follow the link.

Be sure to stay tuned… I have a few more posts to catch up on.

 

Categories: post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Architecture: Weekly Travel Theme

  1. Love the second shot! I really enjoyed my visit to Toronto. It is a great city!

    • Thank you. Yes Toronto is a great city. There is so much building going on there and lots of neat sculptures and architecture.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I love that shot too! Many times I have tried to catch the lighting/ timing right to get the old Toronto city hall in the reflection of a near by building. One day I’ll get it “right’.

    • I know it is like you have to camp out sometimes to get the shot you want. I have started to carry a camera with me for those once in a life time opprotunity shots.

  3. Pingback: One Shot Two Ways: Photo Challenge | Canadiantravelbugs's Blog

  4. Breath-taking! How things have changed in 40 years!

  5. The second one is so impressive.

  6. Wow, the second one looks different. Is it a new building, maybe I missed it?

    • The second pic with the puddle? It is the main building with the Peace Tower… just taken low so I could get the puddle and bit of the tower in the same shot. I couldn’t take it to fit in more of the tower, or I lost the reflection.

  7. Ooo interesting architecture!

  8. These are stunning! That second picture floored me! Nice job, for sure!!!

  9. Love these!

