Lotus in Bloom

If you just stopped by and saw my weekly photo challenge post on Focus you would have spotted the lotus blossoms. I thought I should show you some more of the beautiful blooms.

IMG_4791

Lotus with seed pod in background

Last weekend my co-teacher, her husband and daughter brought us to Guyi Gardens in Shanghai, which was hosting the lotus exhibition until the end of August. Each summer lotus bloom all over China for about 2 months. Their season is just starting to come to an end. I have only seen lotus once while I have been here. Hangzhou has enormous blooms. We saw them as we drove around West Lake, but didn’t have the opportunity to get out and see them up close.

IMG_4802

Here we wandered the park at leisure and I was able to snap a lot of photos. Unfortunately they grow in ponds, so you can’t always get up too close. Luckily I had a good zoom on the camera and could get in tight for a few shots. Many people with large tripods could be spotted throughout the park. The day was really hot, humid with a lot cloud cover. I can only imagine how brilliant the colours would have been in the sunshine.

The lotus pond

The lotus pond

There were numerous ponds with lotus and others with lily pads. We spotted a few teeny tiny frogs and two bright red dragon flies. A small river twisted through the park and you could take a small boat to tour around. Instead we went to a little tea house that was in the centre of the garden where we had a quick break. I had a refreshing watermelon juice and we all snacked on dumplings. The cost of admission was a low 10 RMB per person (about $1.50) and family tickets were also available.

lilly pads

lily pads

The colours ranged from pale pinks, to ivory-white and bright sunny yellow centres. I didn’t notice if the lotus had a fragrance, but they were just so beautiful and they looked like there was a light coming from within. Lotus root is also eaten and as I said in an earlier post I have tried it in a sweet mooncake and as a side dish with a sweet sticky sauce. Both taste delicious.

Stay tuned next week for more…

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town, travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Lotus in Bloom

  1. Great to see that you still found some lotus flowers! 🙂 Very nice pictures!

    • Yes my former co-teacher found there was the lotus exhibition (so only lotus and pond lily) and took us to the gardens when she heard I wanted to see lotus 🙂 She is very sweet.
      Glad you liked the photos 🙂

      • That’s super nice of her! 🙂

        • Yes we are BCFF… Best Chinese Friends Forever. 😉 She has been super helpful and kind to me. My husband had to go home, so she said she had to be like my family and care for me since I was here alone for a few months. She was so sweet! She works at a different campus now, but we still try to get together as much as we can.

  2. Beautiful!

    Because I enjoy your blog, I have nominated you! http://tvortravels.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/ive-been-nominated-and-so-have-you/

  3. Wow, spectacular!

  4. They are very beautiful. Yet the image of one given to me as a birthday present is even more beautiful. I see it every day and think of the beautiful lady who gave it to me.

  5. Freda Goulet

    My question re lotus fragrance was answered in this blog…beautiful pictures. I wonder if lotus could survive here in Canada?

    • Maybe since July and August are the season. It is really hot and humid here (only 10-15 degrees+) so maybe they like the extra heat. I should have tried to grab a few of those seeds and tried it out 😉

  6. Wow, so beautiful!! I absolutely love lotus flowers and lotus ponds!

  7. Soooo gorgeous! There were lotus flowers at Longwood Gardens but they weren’t opened all the way. And I didn’t have a zoom lens. Thank you for sharing your pictures with me and visiting my blog. 🙂

    • Thanks for finding me 🙂
      The Lotus were in their final weeks so many of them were into seed pods and in various stages. They were very beautiful and SO large.
      I splurged a year ago and bought a somewhat simple camera with a good zoom. It is worth it when you can get a better pov 😉

