Lady in the Moon

As a child we heard silly stories that the moon was made of cheese or there was a man in the moon. In China they have a legend about a lady in the moon.

The story is about the holiday that is held in September or October on a full moon. It is a time of celebration and the second most important holiday after Chinese New Year. Families get together and have a large meal together and it is a time to celebrate the harvest. Very similar ideas to our Thanksgiving holiday, one of the Chinese teachers told me. The legend is about a lady who had to live on the moon and her husband was still on earth. The story goes she flew to the moon and wasn’t able to return. The moon is bright is round on this day so her husband can see her from earth.

Mooncakes are one of the traditional foods eaten for the Moon Festival. Moon cakes are flakey pastry most commonly filled with bean paste or an egg, which symbolises the full moon. Occasionally there are other flavours. I have had lotus and pineapple, which were my favourite. I also tried the bean and a black sesame. However, my all time favourite mooncake is ice cream 🙂 This year I was given some ice cream mooncakes as a gift. Each one was  a different flavour… chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, raspberry, caramel… and the centre one was vanilla with a cheesecake like bit and an orange coloured sherbet in the centre, which I think was passionfruit.

DSC04808

DSC04810

This relates to LavendarLadi’s suggestion on her recent post to talk about legends…

What legend or story can you share? Post your link below and over at the above link for Lavendar Ladi’s blog.

Stay tuned…

Categories: teaching overseas, Tourist in My Own Town, travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Lady in the Moon

  1. Yumm.. mooncakes. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve never even heard of mooncakes but I would love to eat them, all! 🙂 Here’s my link on a legend from Sardinia http://laavventura.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/la-accabadora-the-woman-of-death-sardinian-folklore/

    • Mooncakes are not sweet but more savory so I find them a little unusual. Now the ice cream ones are another story 😉
      Thanks for the link and look forward to reading your legend.

  3. I might actually like the ice cream mooncakes! No thanks on the egg ones! 😉

    • The ice cream ones are just like ice cream bars… very yummy. The traditional ones are more savory and sometimes unusual. They use their traditional foods. I did like the pineapple one, but only saw it the one year. Maybe it wasn’t as popular with the Chinese pallet. They are not into sweets as much as we are.

