Getting Ready for the Holidays

I am not a poet, but I sometimes have inspiration to write and scribble a few words down. Nothing to share or post since I am not happy with the rhythm or rhyme I come up with. This week I decided to give it a go and stretch and challenge myself for Pixelventures challenge. The challenge was to post a holiday inspired photo and add some text in a short story (150 words or less) or poem.

We went to see some lovely holiday lights last night and the glow and sparkle drew me in and had me feelย  the Christmas spirit. This year not going home has left me feeling like I am missing the spirit and Christmas. I haven’t been shopping for gifts and warmer temperatures and lack of Christmas in China has left me feeling like Christmas is still a long way off. The lights last night brought the awe and wonder back and inspired me to write a few words. I hope you enjoy it.

IMG_5864-001

If you want to join in follow the link to find out more. Also if you want to see more of the lights check out my earlier post here.

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Getting Ready for the Holidays

  1. Freda Goulet

    Again, I love the sparkle of the lights. I can understand why you would be drawn in and inspired to write about the lights. You will be missed by your family…especially your nephews. Enjoy Cambodia… Merry Christmas to you both.

    • Thanks… yes it will be a very different Christmas that is for sure. We will all Skype, but that won’t be the same. I hear the boys are asking who is going to cook the turkey now that Uncle Johnnie isn’t coming home.

  2. Well my dear…you wrote a cool poem…and I think it’s really great a great photo too! you’ve done a Haiga! Yahoo!

  3. you did well I must say

  4. Drawn in, indeed. Fabulous, CTB. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Hey there! Happy holidays all the way from La Paz to your way in China! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Just noticed you visited our travelblog and liked the most recent post! Please feel free to visit the ExpatsBlog and share your comments, your thoughts about our familyโ€™s project! Thank you in advance, and wishes for a great week!
    http://www.expatsblog.com/contests/709/twenty-reasons-for-adding-bolivia-to-your-expat-visiting-list

  6. Pingback: Pixelventures Photo Finish! December 18, 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  7. Got here through freebutfun! Lovely pics you have here.

    • Thanks very much for hopping over ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy photography and this is a great place to see other examples of other people’s work and it has taught me a lot. Glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to seeing you again.
      CTB ๐Ÿ˜€

