Tourist in Your Own Town: Holidays #2

Last spring I started to post on Tourist in Your Own Town and encouraged others to join in. A few months ago as a suggestion to make it more regular I started to set a theme as a monthly challenge, which I will post the first weekend of each new month. The month of December I posted on Holidays and asked you to share what celebrations look like where you live. I posted a unique crystal christmas tree at  a local hotel here in Shanghai. Last night we went out and around to see some lights along Century Avenue. A few weeks ago the twinkling bright blue and white lights caught my attention and I knew I needed to get up close. Around the JingMao Tower, World Financial Tower (or Bottle Opener as it is referred to here), and Shanghai Tower, which is still under construction, we captured these lights.

View from Above

View from Above

Today at the Kerry Parkside in Pudong I spotted this Polar Express display. A super huge mountain of ‘snow’ and train. Each season they seem to out-do themselves with some sort of seasonal splendor.

It is not too late to join in the challenge. Here are the details if you want to share a post and be a Tourist in Your Own Town.

All Aboard

All Aboard

The rules ;)

  • post a picture(s) for this month’s theme: HOLIDAYS
  • link to my post Holidays: Tourist in Your Own Town (or this one #2)
  • add a link to your post in the comment section below (so others can find you too ;) )
  • add the tag TOURIST IN YOUR OWN TOWN to your post
  • use TOURIST IN YOUR OWN TOWN in the title of your post
  • have fun clicking examples of the holidays

Next weekend we are off to Cambodia for Christmas, so stayed tuned for more adventures and travels around Asia.

Categories: Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Tourist in Your Own Town: Holidays #2

  1. Pingback: Getting Ready for the Holidays | Canadian Travel Bugs

  2. Freda Goulet

    I love the lights…very pretty….a little more unique than the Polar Express.

    • The lights look so lovely especially driving past. Everything is covered and bright. The Polar Express is fun at the mall since it towers from the lower level to almost the main level. Halloween they had a big haunted house and last Easter was giant Easter eggs. It is always fun to see what they have.

  3. The blue glow of the lights is beautiful.

  4. Not about holidays, but a cool destination. Expats living in Bolivia wrote this cool list of why you should visit. Check it out here:
    Twenty Reasons for Adding Bolivia to Your Expat Visiting List !
    or if that doesn’t work this one:
    http://www.expatsblog.com/contests/709/twenty-reasons-for-adding-bolivia-to-your-expat-visiting-list

  5. ❤ The Polar Express. We have to watch that movie soon! I still hear the bells…do you?

    • We are watching it in class today… everytime I think of that book/movie I think of you all. I had to post and take that photo just for you guys 🙂 I remember watching it with you all for the first time and snuggling under blankets with hot chocolate 🙂

  6. Pingback: Thursday Special: Fiesta de las Luminarias | The World Is a Book...

