Skyline: Tourist in Your Own Town

I cannot believe it is March already and time for a new Tourist in Your Own Town theme. It is a dreary damp rainy day, so my original plan for the theme was put on hold. I could not bear treading out in the rain yet another day. Last week it rained here 3-4 days and this week we had 2 straight days of steady rain with a cloudy break for one day and then 2 more days of rain with a short break. Instead of getting soggy I looked through my photos and came up with these photos and a new theme.

Shanghai Skyline and fluffy clouds

Shanghai Skyline and fluffy clouds

The theme for March is Sky. Show us the sky where you live. If you live in a big city, like I do in Shanghai, show us the skyline. If you live in a small town or out in the country show a starry night, sunset or cloudy blue sky. What does the sky look like where you live? With the cold winter in North America and the cloudy and rainy weather in Shanghai show us some bright sky to lift our spirits.

How to Join In:

  • post something to show the SKY where you live
  • use  Tourist in Your Own Town in the title
  • use the tag sky and tourist in your town
  • link back to this post
  • link to your post in the comments below so others can find you
  • a new theme will be posted the first weekend of April, so lots of time for sky posts
Shanghai Skyline along the Bund at night

Shanghai Skyline along the Bund at night

On a side note thanks to all those who voted for me in the Canadian Blog Awards. The contest ran differently this year and the results are already up. They only show the top 3, so I am not sure of how I did. I did not make the top 3 😦 Oh well I will try again next time.

DSC02039

Stay tuned….

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Skyline: Tourist in Your Own Town

  1. We don’t have that kind of skyline in the town where I live. We have one “World Trade Center” with offices et cetera, which is pretty high. Like a tower. Don’t know how many floors high. But nothing like in the pictures you show here. Some houses with 8-10 floors, and a quite newly built area along the river which tries to look like Docklands in London, that’s it. (Megalomania??? :lol:)
    Quite a small town, this one, even though the population have grown quite rapidly during the last 50-80 years or so. But it is 708 years old. My first summer here there were festivities cause of its 700 years jubilee.

    • Wow over 700 years old is impressive! I would love to see a photo of those old buildings. Where I am from in Canada we don’t have anything taller than maybe 10 floors. That is an apartment building! The downtown businesses are only 2-3 stories. No big businesses stay in my small home town. They go to the bigger cities.
      No matter if you want to participate show some SKY, doesn’t have to be skyline. It has been grey and raining here a lot lately. In 2-3 weeks we maybe saw the sun twice. I could do with just blue sky shots 🙂
      Hope to see you do an entry.

  2. Gorgeous sky shots ♥

    • Thanks… Often we have grey skies with the smog or just being so close to the sea and 2 rivers. Sometimes the colours are great and I try to capture them because they are so brilliant.
      Would love to see a sky shot from your town too Gilly 🙂

  3. love your sky shots…so are you running a monthly theme now…see how behind I am on all the blogging news…clever idea…i will look about me, and upwards

    • Great Jo I would love to see some sky shots… especailly since you are in warmer sunny days than we are 😉 We are getting rained on 2-3 days a week for the last month. UG!
      Last spring I did this challenge randomly then someone suggested to set a regular timeline to get more participants. With work so busy I decided monthly instead of weekly. Each month (the first weekend) I will post a theme on something for people to show locally where they live. Great way to see the world in a few mouse clicks. 🙂
      Hope to see some photos from you 🙂

  4. Lovely post! February already over and I never got a red post for you…I’m so sorry…will try harder this month!

  5. Reblogged this on Through the Eye of Bastet and commented:
    Here’s a great month long prompt…be a tourist in your own town…presented by Canadian Travel Bugs!

  6. Pingback: into the wide blue yonder | eljaygee

  7. Hey CTB – excellent sky shots; look very familiar 🙂 Read about the chaos and murders in Kunming this week – YIKES!

    • Yes it was pretty scary. China is always very safe and rarely do things happen here, so it is even more shocking when they do. Scarier yesterday when we got an email saying local authorities have suggested schools up their security and we practise lock down procedures. Brought a shiver down my spine.

      • Yikes 😦 stay safe!

        • Yes… we usually stay close to home. Work keeps me tied down. John’s kids are coming this weekend for their March Break, so we will be out and around. We will have to be more careful than usual. They did catch most of them already.

  8. Pingback: Tourist in Your Own Town: Sky or Skyline | Free But Fun!

  9. Nice!! Will do one for you 🙂

  10. Pingback: Abandoned .. Weekly Photo Challenge | Patchwork Ponderings

  11. Pingback: Tourists in my own town! March 8, 2014 | Through the Eye of Bastet

  12. vastlycurious.com

    What a fantastic skyline. !!

  13. Pingback: Tourists in my own town! March 9, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  14. Pingback: Tourist in your own Town: Skylines | Patchwork Ponderings

  15. Pingback: SKYLINE #2: Tourist in Your Own Town | Canadian Travel Bugs

