Round: Tourist in Your Own Town

Recently we went up the Pearl Tower here in Shanghai. It is an interesting building that has pink coloured glass and round ball shapes. Certainly not your traditional straight lines and rectangular shaped building. Word has it that the name came from the round balls, similar to pearls. It was the tallest building in Shanghai at the start of the building boom. The Pearl Tower was completed in 1994.

One of the upper decks has a glass floor where you can view the streets below. Looking through my photos I loved the circular shape.Β  I loved looking down at the round pedestrian walkway and round about. I thought that would be a cool idea for this month’s Tourist in Your Town photo challenge – ROUND.

Looking down at the (g)round.

Looking down at the (g)round.

IMG_7141

Around and Around they go

Now you don’t need to go to a tall building to get your shot. Just look (a)round you and show us something in your backyard, from your street or skyline. It can be round in shape, or hey maybe it could even be something that has been (a)round a long time. Get creative!

How to join in:

  • take a photo or search your files for something that fits the theme round
  • use Round and Tourist in Your Own Town in the tags and title of your post
  • link back to this post, so others may join
  • add a link to your post in the comments below, so others can find you
  • have fun… this challenge is up a bit early and lasts the month of April before a new theme will be posted

Be sure to check out my post from earlier today for WP theme street scenes.

Stay Tuned…

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Photography, Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Round: Tourist in Your Own Town

  1. The new challenge is up a little early. We are off to Hong Kong tomorrow for a few days πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Looking up: Shanghai Skyline | Canadian Travel Bugs

  3. I’d love to stand there and see that view down, Shanghai really does sound great.

  4. Reblogged this on Patchwork Ponderings and commented:
    Wow It’s that time again! Here’s Canadian Travel Bugs April Challenge!!

  5. kewl shot with feet over edge lewkin down πŸ™‚ . love it πŸ™‚

    • It was a strange feeling… your brain just says to your body this isn’t right! Many local Chinese are frightened of the glass floor and shouts and little high pitched screams can be heard. So then my hubby comes and runs and jumps on the glass. I thought somebody would faint! πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Amazing! I don’t think I’d be comfortable standing there!

    • It was scary… Your heart races and your brain tries to tell you to stop. My hubby had to jump on the glass and freak out the others around us. It was kind of funny. I wasn’t that brave.

  7. Fantastic and a little scary all at once!

    • Yes it was a little scary. Scarier when I looked closely at the glass which didn’t appear that thick. It made me wonder how often do they check it??? We also went up the “Bottle Opener” in Shanghai a few years back. The glass there is smaller squares which reminded me of glass blocks. They were much thicker, so I had more confidence in their strength. I did it though with my heart racing.

  8. This reminds me a lot of the CN Tower in Toronto!

  9. Pingback: Tourist in my own Town: Round ~ Travel Theme | Patchwork Ponderings

  10. Pingback: Throwback Thursday ~ Tourist in my own Town: Round ~ Travel Theme | Patchwork Ponderings

