Framed Twists & Turns

Natural framing, or using something that may be otherwise seen as an obstacle can enhance your photography. The trick is having the eye to see it, or right position to capture it.

Seeing the twists and turns of the Great Wall of China I was able to frame it through a gate window.

The Great Wall twists and turns along the mountain ridge.

The Great Wall twists and turns along the mountain ridge.

Meanwhile the natural frame of the twisting roots and tree trunks covered this statue in Cambodia where only the face now peeks out. From guidebooks this phenomenon is described in detail and tells you to be on the look out for it. I was disappointed when I searched high and low and couldn’t find these elusive statues covered by nature. I assumed it was now lost under layers of time as it reclaimed its space. However, I was passing by a travel guide with a small group and they stopped in what appeared to be an unusual spot, nothing to see. I happened to overhear him point out the face peering out through the tree trunk. I looked and saw nothing. I looked closer and saw this tiny little face, something I assumed to be much larger. After all the large faces at Angkor Thom where massive, but this teeny face could be easily missed. What a great coincidence nature twisted and turned and allowed only the face to be perfectly framed and visible.

Peek-a-Boo

Peek-a-Boo

The more literal window frames inside the temples in Angkor Wat twisted and turned in such detail. More like spindles of wood than stone. I enjoyed looking through them and how they framed the windows into much more than just a square opening.

IMG_6079

Check out Word Press for TWISTS and Pixelventures for FRAMING.

Stay tuned…

Categories: Culture, Photography, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Framed Twists & Turns

  1. Lovely capture! I like the angle you captured the Great Wall in!

  2. Love this photo, well done and the second photo in intriguing!

    • The little face was kinda eerie. Thanks for the visit and compliment πŸ™‚ Have a good week.

      • Yes…wonder what the artist was thinking of. Thanks and you have a good one too!

        • Well the buddah was on the wall as a part of a carving. Normal art or decoration for many years, but then mother nature came along. As the temples were left abandoned as the empire moved on or died out (not sure why it was left, but thoughts maybe couldn’t sustain itself any longer) nature reclaimed its place. This was in the temple, often referred to as Tomb Raider, in Cambodia where the trees and vines have over taken parts of the temple. This temple is popular for that reason, to see the tress over buildings and walls.This little guy was covered, all except his face.

  3. wow very kewl πŸ™‚

  4. Love your interpretation of the theme! πŸ™‚

  5. Freda Goulet

    I love the way you framed the Great Wall…as I have said many times, you have a great eye for capturing the most interesting angle of the pictures that you take,,,,great job, Diana!

    • Thanks for the compliment. I think I said before I had some good advice to look for a picture that maybe few people (or no one has) especailly when taking a picture of something so familar or iconic.It makes it fun and more challenging. It also is a good way to take an obstacle and use it to your advantage πŸ˜‰

  6. Exciting series of artistic twists and turns with a captivating, rich history. Awesome pictures. Thanks.

    • Thanks very much. πŸ™‚ Good to see you back. Soon I will have more time to visit and pop over to see you more too.

  7. Absolutely perfect!

  8. All three pictures are wonderful, but I especially like the first one! It’s stunning! Really gives “Twist” a certain meaning.

  9. Wow, excellent! The tree trunk/vines twisting around the Buddha image is remarkable. What a great image!!

    • Thanks so much for the compliment. It was kind of eerie peeking out… so strange how it was all covered except the face. Like Mother Nature has a sense of humour πŸ˜‰

  10. Great collection! Lovely captures!

  11. what an amazing traveller you are – hard to frame the great wall but you did it!

    • Thanks Laura. It took many tries until I got the shot I wanted. Luckily going to a quieter part of the wall and just before tourist season I got a wall shot and not a tourist one πŸ˜‰
      We have been lucky to travel a little each year as we have been living in China. Taking advantage of the location and cheaper flights with no jet lag while here.

  12. Heh heh…you are clever combining your photo challenges into 1 pic!! πŸ™‚ I love the Angkor one…lucky that you overheard that tour guide and were able to spot the little guy.

    • Thanks. I am always trying to combine them to save time πŸ™‚ especially now with report card time.
      Yes very lucky to hear the tour guide, or I would have missed him for sure. He was small and across a courtyard filled with tumbled blocks. I would have never found it otherwise.

  13. Wow ! Love the photos!!

  14. that face in the tree is fascinating

  15. I love the photo of the Great Wall of China. I sure hope I can go there some day.

    • It is very cool to see. Plan a few days to go since there are many sections to see, or allow for a clear low pollution day… just in case. Summer is very hot and humid and BUSY. October 1st is a holiday here too, so it is best to go just before or after that week. Late September and early October are the best weather usually. Finger crossed you get there one day.

  16. Pingback: Pixelventures’ Photo Finish – May 28, 2014 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  17. I absolutely LOVE the Angkor Wat photo – amazing – and perfectly framed. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much for the compliment. Although I didn’t frame it… mother nature did a great job on that one πŸ˜‰

  18. All good choices CTB – the first is my favorite πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Twisted – – Just a little | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

