Macro Shots: Photo Challenge

In this day and age I don’t know how I managed, but for 4 years I had a crappy phone where no one could hear me unless I shouted. Texting wasn’t much better since things didn’t line up and although I pressed this a letter a letter from the opposite side would often appear. For just over a year I gave up and the cheap terrible China iPhone became an expensive alarm clock. That is what happens when you are new to town… they prey on the stupid. I managed for as long as I could with this phone, so I guess I got what I paid for and finally gotsome of  my money’s worth by using it as long as  I did.

The last trip to Hong Kong ended up to be in search of a new phone. We knew if we went to a proper shop we would get an authentic phone, good quality and better price in Hong Kong than China. Electronics are often cheaper there. I was partial to iPhone since it seems everyone has one. Over the last 6 months Samsung has started to take the lead here. So I did some research and asked people who had both pros and cons.

My husband preferred the Samsung and I could go either way, so we decided on Samsung. A selling feature for me was better photo quality and cheaper price tag. In Hong Kong we went to the large mall at Times Square and found the Samsung store. I wanted a good phone, light and easy to carry. Then there was the Samsung zoom, which is more camera than phone. It was on sale… I was sold. For the price of 1 iPhone we got 2 phones. One for me and 1 for hubby. When I have a chance I should do a post about this great purchase, but today’s purpose it a photo challenge, so I best get to it 😉

The great thing about this phone is the amazing quality of macro shots. I was impressed.

Spring Rain

Spring Rain

And here is another…

 

raindrop close up

raindrop close up

Check out more great macro shots over at Bastet’s Pixleventures.

Stay tuned…. new Tourist in Your Town challenge should be up later this weekend.

 

 

Categories: Photography, Tourist in My Own Town, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Macro Shots: Photo Challenge

  1. Wow! This is stupendous! I love what you’ve done here…absolutely breath-taking!

  2. Fantastic quality! Good info to know!

    • Thanks Patricia. I will write a post about the little camera/phone another time. I am happy with it. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I never have I phones because everyone else does! it’s Sony for me every time – also for the great camera 🙂

    • I love Sony too. I have had a few Sony cameras and love the little point and shoot ones. When we went shopping for phones we never thought about Sony… come to think of it I did have a little Sony phone -a red one- when we came to China. It broke and was the reason we went shopping for new ones. We got scammed for the fake phone and I lived with it. The smart phone has its pros and cons. Here having a phone is cheap, so I don’t want to get too used to all the features. Back home it will cost a small fortune.

  4. Freda Goulet

    Diana, Your pics are remarkable…can feel the coolness of the rain drops! Great job !

  5. Love my Samsung! Good choice.

  6. I love your new Samsung. I have friends already giving up their iPhone for the Samsung. I too, am impressed with the macro shots you took. Photos are great!
    I’ll be watching for more.

  7. Stunning! As great at the camera/phone is I’m sure the photographer had more to do with it!!

  8. Wow what gorgeous shots! Isn’t it amazon how good cellphones have become as cameras?! I have an iPhone but just got an unlocked Samsung phone for international travel. I’m looking forward to using it!!!

    • Cameras on phones have really developed into something great! From those I asked said Samsung is the best for photos… They make cameras and other electronics, so maybe that is why… they developed camera technology first and applied it to the phones.

  9. Gorge photos! Can’t believe they came from a phone!! Which Samsung phone did you buy?? I have always used an iPhone, but lately I’m thinking about switching. I’m still on iPhone 4 and it’s been okay until now, but lately it feels really slow and out of date. Time to upgrade…but not sure if I should make the switch.

    • I went with the Samsung Zoom. It looks like a pocket camera. I say it is a camera with a phone attached, not the other way round 😉 The regular pocket phone, similar in size to iphone also takes good pics (my husband has that one). There are a lot of options in phones depending on what you are looking for. They have larger and smaller sizes too. The price was less than iphone too, so that was an added bonus. Go to the Samsung store and see what they have, so many options! That was the hardest part -deciding.

  10. Pingback: Pixelventures’ Photo Finish! June 4, 2014 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  11. Very impressive, CT! I chose iPhone over samsung since the smart phone came from the Apple, Steve Jobs actually…

    • Hi Amy, Thanks for all the visits 🙂 I like apple too and I have an iPad. I do like the fact that this is more camera than phone. More bulky that a slim phone, but I needed a pocket camera and a phone and this fit the bill! When I have a chance I am going to do a post about it.

      • I didn’t blog or do post at all when I was traveling (two weeks). We were on our feet all day long, touring as much as we could. We flew back on Monday evening 🙂

