Tip Toe Travels

Oh if my feet could talk the stories they would tell. For the last week we have been on a whirlwind tour of the globe travelling half way around the world from Toronto, Canada to China with some stops in between. July 30th we left Canada and flew Toronto to Dubai, United Arab Emirates. We had 2 nights and 3 days in Dubai. From there we flew to Shanghai and after 2 nights here we travelled north to Beijing to see the Great Wall. After 2 nights and 3 days we returned to Shanghai where we have settled with some much needed rest.

Why would we do such an intense schedule with such great distances you may wonder…. well a friend from home made the return journey with us and we had to make the most of her time. We tried to fit in as much as we could before my return to work. After planes, trains and automobiles, desert, rock, mountains and sidewalk not to mention little sleep and numerous time zones we managed to fight off jet lag and see a lot in a short period of time.

The following post will be a brief summary of events andΒ at a later date I will write more .

Canada – soft green grass to tickle my toes as we prepared to leave for the airport.

Canadian Feet -EH?

Canadian Feet -EH?

30,000+ feet up – on the plane somewhere between Canada and Dubai.

High above the clouds

High above the clouds

Dubai – in Dubai we did a desert safari. Sand as far as you can see….

in the dunes

in the dunes

China – the Great Wall. Last trip we did a tour and didn’t get to hike as far as I would have liked. This time we hiked from Tower 14 to 24… almost to 25. That is a lot of steps.

a little rest on the stairs before the big hike to the top

a little rest on the stairs before the big hike to the top

Click Clack -tired toes resting on the train back to Shanghai.

speeding from Beijng to Shanghai at 300KM/hr

speeding from Beijing to Shanghai at 300KM/hr

Β What have your feet been up to lately?

Stay tuned for more…

 

 

Categories: Chinese Adventures, travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Tip Toe Travels

  1. What an adventure! πŸ™‚
    My feet? Well.. Nja… No. Not much of an adventure here…. O_o

  2. Freda Goulet

    That is a lot of traveling for those toes of yours! I loved the maple leaf on your toes ! My toes are having a quiet summer! Just walking around city hall on my daily walks.

    • When I came home I had Chinese characters on my toes, so fitting to have the Maple leaf on my return πŸ˜‰ The lady at the shop wasn’t sure she could do it, so she let me paint the maple myself.

  3. Very patriotic of you! Did you notice anybody checking out your toes on your journeys? I hope someday to see the Great Wall but I won’t be wearing flip-flops on these “older” feet of mine. Feet sometimes are the first things to let you know you’re not a kid anymore!!

    • Thanks… I didn’t wear flip flops, but some did! The wall is too steep and dangerous in places for that. I took my socks and shoes off for a rest and snapped that pic. I agree my feet are showing my age too. I have to wear proper shoes; no longer fashionable ones. 😦
      As to the toes someone noticed in the subway, in Beijing I think. My students will certainly notice when I head back to work. When I went home in the summer I had Chinese characters on my toes, so on my return I thought the Maple leaf would be fitting. My summer home post (tourist in my own town), there is a pic with my feet in the grass, you can see the Chinese pedi.

  4. fun post, great pictures!

    • Thanks. I thought it would be cool to have pics of all the places my feet went in such a short time. Amazing how we can travel so far so quickly these days.

  5. What lucky feet!

    • Yes we planned out the trip well to maximize adventure! My friend from home hasn’t traveled much, so we had to fit a lot of see and do in a short period of time. The tootsies are tired now and in need of a rest πŸ˜‰

  6. Feet never had it so good. Lucky you!

    • Thanks. We planned our flight the long way round so we could see a lot. My friend from home came for a visit and this way she could see and do the max.

  7. Love these feet — not just that they’ve been to places I’d love to see but that they look so darned good!

    • Thanks Rusha for the follow and visit. Poor feet wouldn’t look as good now after those thousands of steps and 8km or so of walking on the wall πŸ˜‰
      Where are you from? I ask because your last name is the same as some of my relatives.

      • I was born in Louisiana and married a man who has lived in Mississippi, Louisiana, and Tennessee. However, his father was from Pennsylvania. Sounds pretty mixed up, right?

        • No not at all… I work overseas and have children with one parent from one country, the other parent from a second country and they all live in a third country. That gets confusing when you say ‘where are you from?’ πŸ˜‰ I ask since I have relatives from the East coast in Canada with the same last name… maybe long lost relatives from Pennsylvania who moved North as the US was claiming independence ?

  8. Beautiful toes, I love the nail paint. What a creative, fun post πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Amy. After having Chinese characters on my toes all summer at home I thought I should have the Canadian Maple leaf coming back and with all the travels we were doing. πŸ˜‰

      • I haven’t try anything like characters πŸ™‚ It’s really cool, CT!

        • I had running shoes done before that and they didn’t turn out so well, so I thought what can I pick that they can do well….? I figured Chinese characters were best. You can see them in my tourist in my town: home post (my feet in the grass show them off). I won’t tell you what they say. You can have a guess first πŸ˜‰

  9. Pingback: Texture: Weekly Photo Challenge | Canadian Travel Bugs

  10. My feet had a week camping and hiking in the Pennsylvania mountains. That’s just what they love to do!

  11. Oh my, this is the cutest idea ever! I admire your toe-painting skills, too; I can barely paint a coat of nail-polish, let alone create such intricate designs. Love the Canadian flag. πŸ˜€
    I hope you had a wonderful adventure ^_^ (Both you and your adorable toenails, hahaha)

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I thought of the idea and think it turned out well. I am not an artist, but when I concentrate really hard I can do it πŸ˜‰ Was an amazing adventure and those poor toes traveled so far in a short time.

