Feeling Frayed: Weekly Photo Challenge

A teacher’s worst nightmare came true this week with rain on the first day of school. Not just a light drizzle, but a heavy downpour that made the day dull and dark. Meeting a new class and having to spend all day with them indoors left me a little frazzled and frayed. Don’t get me wrong I love teaching, but when 7.5 hours straight is with 5 year olds all talking at once you can get a little tired and frayed around the edges.

Heavy rain storm - July 2014 Fonthill, ON

Heavy rain storm – July 2014 Fonthill, ON

It could be a result of my nerves getting a little frazzled with the weather. At home the last week of our holiday was filled with cooler temps and lots of heavy rain. When we returned to China the first week was typical with hot humid temps with sunny blue skies. That was short lived and unseasonable cool temps and heavy rains rolled in. We had 5 days of steady rain which, wears on your nerves and makes you a little frayed.

What has left you feeling frayed?

Check out Word Press and the photo challenge this week frayed.

With a new work schedule I have not been able to get onto WP as much as I would like, so I apologise if I do not respond quickly. Whenever I get a chance I will.

Stay tuned.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Feeling Frayed: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Perfect subject matter for this challenge. I’ve been in education for 47 years — now retired but working part-time. I can empathize with you — there are many days we can be frayed . . . even beautiful sunny ones! Best wishes for a super year ahead.

    • Thanks Rusha… I have my work cut out for me this year. Last year’s class was so perfect it will be hard to replicate. This group is young (over half the class just reaching the age deadline), so I was feeling a little frayed. When I discovered this tidbit I started to relax and work with what I have.

  2. We are begging for rain every day! Hope it will go better for you soon.

    • Our first 2 years here they cried for rain too and then the last year (or months) has seen way more rain than needed. Extremes… no happy medium.

  3. Hope it settles down a bit, the weather as well 🙂 Love the picture

    • Thanks Chris there was a HUGE rain storm at home before we left. I was trying to capture the lightening, but it was too far off, but the rain was so heavy it actually showed up in the photo.

  4. Freda Goulet

    You will soon have your routines established and you will feel less frayed as you and your students get to know each other….sunnier days ahead, Diana.

    • I hope the forecast is wrong since they are calling for rain everyday this week! Indoor play here means we stay inside with the students and we are on duty every recess with our own class 😦 This class is SO young too. Just realised over half of my class is just making the deadline for the birthday cut off. Last year I had the opposite with many early birthdays, so a lot of my class was older. It is already taking us longer to accomplish the simplest of tasks, this year, so it will take some time.

  5. vastlycurious.com

    I hope you find peace soon! I can completely identify !

  6. Nothing like “jumping in the deep end”. The fun thing about getting them so young is you’ll see a bigger difference by year’s end. 😉

    • Last year I had an older class and I saw HUGE strides. The younger ones didn’t make as much progress and sometimes struggled. Research has shown that children’s brains are not ready to read until 6-7! (Although some can at 5.) A speaker came to school and he even shared that their ears are still developing so tricky vowel sounds are impossible for them to hear until 6-7. Our birthday cut off is August so they are still babies! Knowing the research I need to adapt and be more flexible with this class. Already it takes us 3 times longer to do small tasks… so we need to work up to it!

  7. We’ve had steady rain for a week now in Seoul…also really weird. It’s like the monsoon, which usually happens in July, delayed until now. It’s been nothing but grey skies here. Ugh. Definitely leaves you feeling a bit, um… shall we say, unmotivated? 😉

    • Yes I hear you… that is exactly it. On a rainy day I would much rather stay in bed. Our rainy season is June in Shanghai and the rain is usually fast and heavy. This year is heavy and forever! Since March we had rain at least every weekend until June and maybe during the week too. July we weren’t here, but sounds like 2 weeks continued that pattern. The last two weeks of July and first week of August was typical with hot and humid and now cool and rainy, very unseasonal and not the norm. Yesterday we had a short rain shower and it drove the humidity WAY up… so the rain here in any dose is just unwelcome.

  8. I hope the sun is shining for you now. NIce interpretation of the “fray” theme.

    • Thanks… nothing worse than constant rain to fray the nerves 😉 Sun is trying to peak out from thick clouds as I type. Fingers crossed the weather forecast is wrong since it is calling for rain again all week 😦

  9. I can’t imagine teaching a bunch of five year olds! You are brave but they are so cute too at that age. 🙂

  10. I hope good weather returns soon and lifts your spirits!

    • Thanks Meg. Well today looks like it is trying to be sunny, but chance of thunder showers. I am hoping the weather forecaster is wrong as they are calling for rain again all week 😦

  11. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Fray | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  12. CTB, here in South Carolina last week was “real feel” temps over 100 degrees F with bright sun all week. A little rain might have been a lovely relief but alas no such luck. Hope your sunny skies return soon and that your class surprises you with their ability to learn! Have a great school year.

    • The class is settling in nicely and the weather finally cooperated. It was calling for rain all week, but now from Wed and through the weekend. When you have 24 little ones in a class ALL DAY and no break (we cannot leave them at recess) your nerves get a little frayed 😉

  13. Pingback: Fray – or frizzy? | Words & Pics

