Refraction: Weekly Photo Challenge

This week word press is looking for refraction, pictures to do with light. I snapped these this past summer and I think they captured the light in different and unusual ways.

Sun spots and colours in the grass

Sun spots, shadows and colours in the grass

 

Heavy rainstorm and colours captured in the street light

Heavy rainstorm and colours captured in the street light.

 

Sunlight captured in the dew on a spider web

One of my favourites showing detail and sunlight captured in the dew on a spider web.

Check out last week’s post for the Blood Moon Eclipse for another example of light.

Stay tuned…

Categories: Photography, post a week, Tourist in My Own Town | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Refraction: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Great spider web!

    • Thanks… I was up just at the right time and the light just hit it and made it sparkle. A few minutes later as the sun rose the light shifted and the image was gone.

  2. Freda Goulet

    I love the spider web …the perspective that you captured here , as well as the light, makes this picture very unique. Great take on the theme.

  3. loved that dew -droppy spidey web ❤

    • Thanks so much. I have been trying to capture a pic like that for years and I happened to see it just in time before the sun shifted and it became invisible once more.

  4. The first is a beautiful image!

  5. Lovely shots CTB – I’m a sucker for a cool spider web – especially at Halloween time 😄

    • Yes never thought of that connection, although nothing spooky about these ones 🙂 I just found them fascinating and beautiful.

  6. I really like that first shot. It makes me nostalgic but I don’t know why. Thankfully, it feels good. 😉
    The other photos are very cool as well. I just don’t get all weepy over them. LOL

  7. great shots- I love the streetlight one!

    • Thanks so much. It was a super heavy rainstorm and I tried to capture it on ‘film’. I enjoyed the light spots that appeared… a pleasant surprise.

  8. Great captures of the refraction! The web is incredible, love the details.
    I did not get this one from my Reader 😕

    • Oh really? Funny how sometimes things just disappear. I know I have to go searching for people sometimes too. I try my best to still post once a week, but with a new busy work schedule and new requirements I don’t have as much time to blog. My blogs are often shorter…

      • I do short posts all the time, blogging takes too much time, but fun to share and connect with people 🙂 Take care. Hope you are felling better now. Is it getting cooler in Shanghai? We are still in high 80s.

        • We had a cold snap and were worried winter was coming early, but it bounced back to higher than normal. Usual temps should be around 20c (70 F) and have been around 24c (75F). Nights are a bit cooler, but over all October is the best weather in Shanghai with comfortable temps and low/no humidity. Plenty of sunshine, little rain and blue skies always make October really nice.
          Yes little posts are all I have time for and even then not every week. Every year work adds more and more to our plate and this year seems crazy with us required to go to each event where as before we would volunteer. We are getting ready for a license renewal and the process is huge and lots of extra paper work and research. Not the best year to add more responsibilities. I had a bad virus in August then a tummy bug in Sept/Oct and still not fully recovered. I feel tired all the time. Speaking to some fellow co-workers I am not alone -we’re all feeling it. I am trying to enjoy all that I can though since this will be my last year here.

          • Stress doesn’t help our heath. I have dealt with the stress at different levels, to say the least. We have had 10 degrees above normally for a few weeks. Tomorrow will be 90F, and have been drought…

            • Yes true and I need to find a balance so I can escape work and stress. They often don’t make it easy when you need to attend an event and stay 12 hours! Last weekend it was at least 2 hours. The week before in was during the school day, but no break or prep time, but the same work had to be completed. This weekend I have lots to catch up on, but 2 of us decided lets do some of the work over coffee. Hopefully that will help 😉
              Wow you have some hot days ahead. Weather is crazy all over.

  9. WOW ! Amazing Spider web! Stunning.

