Chinese Symmetry -WP Photo Challenge

When I take pictures I often follow the rule of thirds to make things more interesting. This causes difficultly when looking for pictures with symmetry. I took a rainy stroll around the block today and looked for things that created symmetry.

A street sign showing Chinese characters isn’t symmetrical, but some Chinese characters can be divided equally.

some Chinese characters are symmetrical

some Chinese characters are symmetrical

Wednesday is New Years Eve and Chinese lanterns and other decorations are popping up all around. The entrance to this shopping area was very symmetrical.

Chinese New Year decorations near City Shop and Yanlord Town

Chinese New Year decorations near City Shop and Yanlord Town

Expensive cars grace the streets in my neighbourhood and I noticed the grill of this high-end car to be symmetrical.

man made symmetry

man made symmetry

Look for what creates balance and symmetry in your neighbourhood. Find something? Post about on WP or tell us about in the comments below.

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: China, Culture, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Chinese Symmetry -WP Photo Challenge

  1. Freda Goulet

    I think you captured the theme “symmetry” in an interesting way in each photo…I like the way you included both symmetry in nature and man made symmetry. Most of us are too busy to notice the balance and symmetry around us….I will be more aware after reading your blog. Enjoy Chinese New Year!

  2. Freda Goulet

    Thanks…what sign are you in the Chinese zodiac…I’m a horse! Jack is a tiger!!!

  3. I was surprised to see street signs with english on them. Is this becoming the norm?

    • It is actually English letters and their phonetic spelling called pinyin. They need it for technology to use an alphabetical keyboard mostly. It certainly is easier for me to say things when I can see the letters and know the phonetic sounds. BUT English is more wide spread and taught in schools…. to communicate with the west. They need it for ‘good’ business.

  4. The arrows pointing north & south are kind of symmetrical on the Chinese road sign.

  5. This is very well done … I especially love the second photograph! Bravo!

    • Thanks Georgia. The decorations are out in full force this year… I think more than previous years.
      How are things with you? I haven’t been on the blog much lately. Just a quick post. Chinese New Year holiday starts tomorrow, so I hope to get on more.

      • Cool … I’m doing pretty good … spring at last is becoming a reality though it’s still pretty cold. Apart from that nothing to talk about! And you, have you resolved your health problems!

        • lad to hear you are doing well. I am doing better and recovered from the surgery well. Problem is now gone and I feel so much better. Still bit tired as I am healing, but better every day. Spring was coming, but cooled down again. This season is always about the roller coaster of temps!

          • Ah … same here when it comes to spring … we’ve already got some blossoming fruit trees … silly things, since February is really the dead of winter … but you do get some formidable sunshine. I’m so happy to hear you’re getting better daily … what a scare you must have had … A huge hug dear and I’ll try to be more diligent in keeping in touch .. just been a bit busy of late … thought I’d have more time giving up Pixelventures … but then got involved with another prompt site …

            • Always seems there is never enough time 😉 I haven’t been blogging much since fall. With the operation and needing time to rest I don’t get on as much. It was pretty scary, but glad they found the problem and it was ‘fixable’. After many weeks of uncertainty and not knowing it was good to have a diagnosis and it wasn’t as serious as it could have been. Spring festival or Chinese New Year has begun here. Shanghai has a large migrant population, so the city is quiet… other than the fireworks. Tonight will be all night again as they honour the money gods. Take care and don’t work too hard.

  6. Pingback: Rule of Thirds: WP photo challenge | Canadian Travel Bugs

  7. Pingback: Symmetry: The Making Of | My Atheist Blog

What do you think eh?

