Ephemeral #2 -Frozen in Time

This week I have done 2 posts for the WP Photo Challenge. The first one Ephemeral: Shanghai Sillies made me think of the time and how quickly my last few months in Shanghai are flying by. I can’t wait to go home, but there is a bit of sadness as some things I will have to leave and experience for the last time.

Ephemeral is something fleeting, that passes quickly. Sometimes we are lucky to capture something on film that you probably could never re-create, or capture again. A moment in time that flashed by, and forever frozen on film. These are my ultimate examples.

These are my nephews and for the last few summers our tradition is to capture a photo of them as they jump into the pool. This by far was our favourite as they were frozen sitting in midair.

1, 2, 3.... splash!

1, 2, 3…. splash!

The second picture makes me laugh every time I see it. My nephew looks like he is falling from the sky, or the picture was photo-shopped. Nope, none of the above. This was pure luck as I caught this shot of my husband tossing my nephew into the air and catching him. Their hands and position made it extra funny, making my nephew look like he is dropping from the sky, while the entire event took milliseconds in real time.

It's a bird, it's a plane..... WT****.....?

It’s a bird, it’s a plane….. WT****…..?

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: everyday occurances, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Ephemeral #2 -Frozen in Time

  1. Looks like a lot of fun !

  2. Wow you must have amazing luck or incredible talent to catch such wonderful moments and focus so well. I loved both the photos.

    • Well the pool shot took many tries as I tried to catch them both in air. More often than not one is already in the water, or forgot to jump and on deck. The other shot was pretty lucky as I snapped a few pics and spotted how all the elements came together after the fact.
      Thanks for the visit πŸ™‚

  3. Hahaha these are both brilliant!

  4. for a second! teop! yep 😎 very cool πŸ™‚

  5. You sure capture a precious fleeting moment in that second shot. Two thumbs up. πŸ‘πŸ‘

  6. Wow, what happy moments πŸ™‚ Great capture!

  7. Pingback: April Fooled.. Last of the Literary Fest | litadoolan

  8. Wingardium Leviosa! Love it.

  9. Pingback: Blur -WP Photo Challenge | Canadian Travel Bugs

What do you think eh?

