Broken: WP Photo Challenge

This week we are asked to show BROKEN.

Broken usually depicts something in sadness, now tossed away or a source of tears because it is not as it once was. A broken heart, a favourite toy, a bicycle with a bent rim. Often these are abandoned as we must move on.

Could broken be a source of joy?

I think it can…. as it was in this instance of the silk worms. My class was studying animals and we had the opportunity to have some silk worms. We got tiny little caterpillars which quickly became fat after constantly munching on mulberry leaves.

The last lone caterpillar

The last lone caterpillar

After a few weeks they spun elaborate cocoons and my class waited in anticipation for them to emerge.

Imagine my surprise Monday (May 18/15) when I came into the classroom to this strange noise. As I walked across the room I saw the silk worms were now moths and fluttering their wings at top speeds. Unfortunately they are too large to fly, but try as they may. Or maybe they are doing it to cool down, attract a mate or disperse the eggs?

up close and personal Note the large, furry body and feathery attenna

up close and personal
Note the large, furry body and feathery antenna

Our little cocoons were broken, much to our delight, as we experienced the life cycle right before our eyes.

The small yellow dots are eggs. Look closely for the one cocoon broken where the moth emerged.

The small yellow dots are eggs. Look closely for the one cocoon broken where the moth emerged.

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: China, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Broken: WP Photo Challenge

  1. Freda Goulet

    Broken cocoons certainly were a source of joy for the children in your class who got such an up close look at the silk worms…a very interesting take on the subject, Diana!

    • Thanks 🙂 It was really exciting. I think I was more thrilled then the kids. I invited all the parents to come see too at drop off 🙂 Last year we were not as successful, so I was over joyed.

  2. How amazing and great for the children to see!

    • It was very cool and helped them understand the life cycle and see each stage of the process. We started with caterpillars and ended with eggs. We need to store the eggs and start again next year now.

  3. Great choice CTB. When we were in Thailand we went to a silk factory. I usually avoid the touristy stuff but I found that fascinating. Excellent positive slant on the week!

    • Thanks Tina. It was something to see. To be a part of the full life cycle maybe was more exciting for me. It has been over a week and my little ones are still fascinated. I’m sure it will be a memory we all share.

  4. Pingback: Broken | My Own Champion

What do you think eh?

